LibGuides: Theology Resources: Databases

Journal Databases

To use these databases off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database, an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu, contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Religious & Theological Abstracts

General Databases Covering Theology

To use these databases off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Primary Source Databases

To use these databases off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
Contains the text of the 68 printed volumes of published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Societe des Bollandistes from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. Also includes several indices.
Early English Books Online [EEBO] (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
King James Bible (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The King James or Authorized Version of the Bible was printed in 1611 and became the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries. Arguably the most influential single document for English literary studies, this fully searchable online version presents the full text (of the â€˜Heâ€™ version) with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
More than 520 volumes of Latin and Greek texts translated to English and available in a searchable format. Content includes, epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory among others.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
This series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Includes the works of Anselm, Aquinas, Augustine, Berkeley, Calvin, Kant, Kiergegard, Plato, and Wittgenstein among others.
Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of Migne's Patrologiae Graecae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
This database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Includes the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, also includes the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes, as well as Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars.
Project Perseus This link opens in a new window
This database covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, giving the full text of many ancient works, in the original languages and English translation.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
**Please note you will have to create a unique account on TLG to access content. **
Digitized literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.

St. Jerome by Caravagio, 1606

e-journals

E-Journals List

Gumberg Library can access many thousands of journals electronically in full text. Click the link below to search to see if the journal you need is available.

E-Journals List

oadtl

doaj

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Click the image to visit the DOAJ

Something New! - JURN - Give it a Try

JURN

JURN is a new search engine indexing open source journals in the Humanities on the Internet. All articles found are free and full-text. See the links below to learn more about Jurn and to get to its search interface.

BEC

Bulletin of Ecumenical Theology
Click this link to see the full text of this peer-reviewed journal edited by Fr. Elochukwu Uzukwu, available through Duquesne University's institutional repository, Digital Commons.

Voices Online Journal

Voices, EATWOT's Theological Journal
Click this link to see all issues of the online journal of the Ecumenical Association of Third World Theologians

Theology Resources: Databases

X

Journal & Primary Source Databases

Journal Databases

General Databases Covering Theology

Primary Source Databases

e-journals

E-Journals List

oadtl

doaj

Something New! - JURN - Give it a Try

BEC

Voices Online Journal