LibGuides: Chaucer: Find Articles

The Knight

The Knight

Electronic Journals

eJournals

Finding Full Text

Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. To learn about how to know in if full text is available in any our our resources, click the link below for a page that describes this in detail.

Finding Full Text

Journal Databases - the Best for Chaucer Studies

Journal Databases for Literature

In this box the databases that are best for the study of Chaucer are highlighted. Other databases covering literature, including the study of Chaucer, are listed in the box below.

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
An indispensable reference work for English studies, with more than 960,000 records from 1892 to the present, with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material. Widely regarded as one of the most important bibliographical sources for English studies.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.

Other Journal Databases for the Study of Literature

General Journal Databases Covering Literature

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.