LibGuides: Nursing Doctoral Week 2024/25: Books / eBooks

Health Sciences eBooks

Search within these collections for specific eBooks. You can also search within DUQSearch and limit your search to eBooks.

Gumberg Library Book Collections

Academic Writer (formerly APA Style CENTRAL) This link opens in a new window Provides the resources necessary to learn, research, write, and publish in APA Style.
AccessAnethesiology This link opens in a new window offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks with optimized content for any mobile device.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window Cases in Case Files Collection provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor. Cases in Case Files Collection are organized into categories and based off different resources, including: Basic Science Cases Clinical Rotation Cases Post-Graduate Cases NOTE: Accessing the AccessMedicine Case Files Collection requires you to sign in using MyAccess.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Provides access to pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, cases, Q&A, NAPLEX review, and other resources that support pharmacy students as well as practicing pharmacists.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This is an online set of 330 fully narrated, 3D-rotational gross anatomy videos organized by region (Upper Extremity, Lower Extremity, The Trunk, Head & Neck, Internal Organs). Created by Dr. Robert D. Acland (University of Louisville School of Medicine), the site helps to facilitate understanding or review of human anatomy. Recent enhancements such as self-assessment based on the Practical Exam and the addition of Inner Ear videos further support teaching and learning for faculty, students, practitioners, and patients.
AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window Fully searchable online version of the 11th edition of the American Medical Association (AMA) Manual of Style.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is Lippincott's online platform for the delivery of more than 8 hours of video content that provides head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Advanced Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course, or for practitioners requiring a review of the History & Physical. The subscription gives you anytime, anywhere access from your computer, smartphone, or tablet device.
Books @ Ovid This link opens in a new window Full text of more than 150 books from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins and the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey Student enables deeper insights into student performance, personalized feedback and improved student engagement. A multi-purpose learning environment for both faculty and students, where users can assess, study and review in a single platform.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics This link opens in a new window The CRC Handbook is a dynamic publication, and every year the editors add new data tables and replace existing data tables with new data values when available. In addition, we are constantly improving the usability and accessibility of the Handbook with more informative introductions and minor data updates.
Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) This link opens in a new window The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest's collection of over 200,000 full-text ebooks.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window EBSCO's ebook collection includes a wide selection of academic e-books including reference works, scholarly monographs, literature, and fiction from top publishers and presses.
FORENSICnetBASE/LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE This link opens in a new window Searchable collection of full text ebooks in the forensic sciences and related disciplines.
Isabel This link opens in a new window Isabel is a differential diagnosis generator designed to aid clinicians’ decision-making, covering more than 10,000 conditions and links to other clinical databases. For mobile access: (1) Login to Isabel (through this page) using your desktop or laptop computer (2) Click "Mobile Access (3) Note the Isabel UserID and Password (4) From your mobile device, go the Gumberg Research databases and login using your MultiPass credentials (5) Click Login (6) Enter your Isabel UserID and Password PLEASE NOTE: the mobile version will not allow you to view cases shared by professors.
JAMAEvidence - McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window JAMAevidence is an online medical resource helping decision-makers to identify the best available evidence. It provides students, residents, fellows, and clinicians with essential content from Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3e, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience.
LWW Health Library: Board Review Series This link opens in a new window The LWW Health Library Board Review Series covers material in the primary basic sciences—such as gross anatomy, embryology, neuroscience, and more—that are addressed on the USMLE Step 1 exam. Textbooks and self-assessments are geared specifically to test prep success.
LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations This link opens in a new window LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations offers a comprehensive content collection targeting each of the core clinical rotations, from Internal Medicine to OB/GYN. Ideal for seeing principles in action with patients and prepping for board exams.
LWW Health Sciences: Premium Basic Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This resource includes the LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection as well as combining the Integrated Basic Sciences collection, the Lippincott Illustrated Review book series, the gold-standard Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking, and more.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window Regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, offering the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition and will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window SAGE's authoritative and award-winning online encyclopedias.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Login with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the

All Gumberg eBook Collections

Additional eBook Collections

CIRRIE: Monograph Series - The Rehabilitation Provider's Guide to Culture's of the Foreign-Born While this resource is written for rehabilitation professionals, the information is pertinent to all medical professions
Merck Manual - Consumer Version Online version of the Merck Manual for patients and caregivers
Merck Manual - Professional Version Enhanced online version of the Merck series of healthcare books for medical professionals, includes treatments, drugs, and dosage regimens
National Academies Press (NAP) PDF versions of over 4,000 books published by NAP available free of charge to users who sign up for MyNAP
Open Textbook Library A growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks, including several pre-clinical health sciences books.
PubMed Bookshelf Access books and documents concerning life science and health care

DUQSearch Tutorial

See the video below to learn more about using DUQSearch to find books and eBooks.

Learn more in our Finding eBooks library guide.

See our list of eBook collections for more information.

You can also check out our Health Sciences eBooks guide.

Print Books

Students enrolled in online programs can request that print books be shipped to them.

DUQSearch If you identify a book that is only available in print, Gumberg can deliver it to you even if you are online learner. See Shipping Materials to You.
WorldCat Enables you to search the collections of thousands of libraries worldwide. You can then use ILLiad to request to request the book.
ILLiad Use ILLiad to request journal articles, books, and other library resources.