LibGuides: Grey Literature: Theses and Dissertations

Theses and Dissertations

Databases

Several databases specifically offer grey literature in the form of electronic theses and dissertations, including those listed below. You can filter in these databases by publication/document type and select "Theses and Dissertations", "Dissertations & Theses", or "Dissertations".

Additionally, the Duquesne Scholarship Collection is our institutional repository that includes a searchable collection of past theses and dissertations written by students at Duquesne.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Dissertations & Theses @ Duquesne University This link opens in a new window Access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Duquesne University.
Duquesne Scholarship Collection This link opens in a new window This database is the institutional repository (IR) for Duquesne University, bringing together all of a University's research to preserve and provide access to that research, which includes working papers or copies of published articles, conference papers, presentations, and senior theses.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
LILACS (Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature) This link opens in a new window More than 880 thousand records of peer reviewed journals, thesis and dissertations, government documents, annals of congresses and books, published since 1982, including systematic reviews, randomized controlled clinical trials, evidence synthesis, health technology evaluation studies, economic evaluation studies, clinical practice guidelines, technical reports, case reports and others. Maintained and updated by a network composed of more than 600 educational, governmental and health research institutions and coordinated by BIREME / PAHO / WHO.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Also includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research -- includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.

Additional Resources

The library's databases are not the only searchable platforms for electronic theses and dissertations. Consider the following resources from the web.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal DART-Europe was founded in 2005 as a partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe E-theses Portal is managed by UCL Library Services.
Find ETDs by Country The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) provides a list of repositories for various nations in order to access their ETDs.
NDLTD - Global ETD Search The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
Open Access Theses and Dissertations Advanced research and scholarship. Theses and dissertations, free to find, free to use.