Use the databases below to search for journal articles. See Additional Resources if you need help formulating searches or finding full text.
Health Sciences Databases
PubMed @ DuquesneThis link opens in a new windowEnables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
PubMed @ Duquesne Tutorial Video
This video explains how to access PubMed @ Duquesne, how to conduct a search, use filters, and find full text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)This link opens in a new windowIndexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowCovers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
Other Databases for Psychiatric-Mental Health NP
APA PsycInfoThis link opens in a new windowCitations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
APA PsycArticlesThis link opens in a new windowA definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
APA PsycTestsThis link opens in a new windowProfessionally indexed, this database is an extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)This link opens in a new windowProvides ready access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Please note that HaPI does not include the actual research instruments. See the Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros) for additional references to research instruments, tests, and assessments.
Medical Letter [The]This link opens in a new windowA nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.
PsychiatryOnlineThis link opens in a new windowA powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
PubMed Clinical QueriesThis link opens in a new windowSearches PubMed with three search filters: (1) Clinical Study Categories (Etiology, Diagnosis, Therapy (default), Prognosis, Clinical prediction guides); (2) Systematic Reviews; (3) Medical Genetics.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintThis link opens in a new windowProduced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, MMY provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. Coverage: Volume 1 to current.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
