LibGuides: Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner: Point of Care Tools

Point-of-Care Tools

Resources that clinicians can utilize quickly at the point-of-care with patients. Many point-of-care tools provide links and citations to additional studies with more complete information.

Gumberg Tools

Setting up a free account in many of these resources will allow you to get access to these tools on your phone.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window Login with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks with optimized content for any mobile device.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
Isabel This link opens in a new window Isabel is a differential diagnosis generator designed to aid clinicians’ decision-making, covering more than 10,000 conditions and links to other clinical databases. For mobile access: (1) Login to Isabel (through this page) using your desktop or laptop computer (2) Click "Mobile Access (3) Note the Isabel UserID and Password (4) From your mobile device, go the Gumberg Research databases and login using your MultiPass credentials (5) Click Login (6) Enter your Isabel UserID and Password PLEASE NOTE: the mobile version will not allow you to view cases shared by professors.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

Additional Tools

Cochrane Clinical Answers Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making.
Diagnosaurus (DDx) Includes more than 1,000 differential diagnoses with links to additional information in AccessMedicine.
Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment “Provides practical, expert information on diagnosis and management when you just have a few minutes.” Part of AccessMedicine.