Articles, Databases & Journals
Use the databases below to search for journal articles. See Additional Resources if you need help formulating searches or finding full text.
Health Sciences Databases
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window
Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
Other Databases for Nursing Education
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Professionally indexed, this database is an extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.
OFF CAMPUS:
1. Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Log In” link at top, right-hand
side of the web page.
2. Sign In with your Duquesne University email if already registered. If not already registered,
Choose the “Create an account now” option.
3. Enter and confirm your duq.edu email address, then follow the
steps on the account set-up pages.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, MMY provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. Coverage: Volume 1 to current.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
