LibGuides: Drug Information Resources: Alphabetical

Drug Information Sources

Listed below are drug databases available through the Gumberg Library.

AccessPharmacy
Pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, cases, Q&A, NAPLEX review, and other resources
ClinicalKey
Books, journals, drug monographs, and more
Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs)
Includes Briggs' monographs for drugs in pregnancy and lactation.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, similar to the discontinued AHRQ National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Lexicomp Online (Clinical Reference Library)
Drug and other health care information
The Medical Letter
Includes the Medical Letter, Treatment Guidelines, Adverse Drug Interactions, Antimicrobial Therapy, and more.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
International encyclopedia of adverse drug reactions and interactions
Micromedex Healthcare Series
Clinical information about drugs and diseases; also available as PDA and mobile browser-optimized version. The Neofax database currently works only when using Internet Explorer.
Ovid Medline
Ovid version of Medline.
PubMed@Duquesne
This version of PubMed includes links to Duquesne's full text electronic journals.
Scopus
Includes articles indexed in PubMed and EMBASE as well as additional scientific literature.
UpToDate
Medical information with links to Lexicomp Online for drug information. For mobile access, see the UpToDate Guide

National Library of Medicine Resources

The National Library of Medicine produces the following drug-related resources.

DailyMed
NLM drug information portal that includes FDA drug labels
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. (NLM)

Information for Consumers

These drug resources focus on consumer needs.

DrugDigest
Evidence-based drug information resource with a consumer focus; includes drug information and interaction-checker
Easy to Read Drug Facts
Science-based information about drug use, health, and the developing brain. Designed for young people and those who influence them
FDA Information for Consumers
Drug information from the FDA focused toward consumers
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Consumer information about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more
Safe Medication
Drug information from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Additional Web Resources

These are additional drug resources from commercial organizations and the FDA.

Drugs@FDA
"Information about FDA-approved brand name and generic prescription and over-the-counter human drugs and biological therapeutic products. Includes most of the drug products approved since 1939."
Drugs.com
This drug information website includes information on prescription drugs and herbal supplements, a pill identifier, interaction checker, drug alerts, and phonetic drug name search.
DrugLib.com
Drug information portal including information on both prescription and over-the-counter drugs as well as information on active ingredients, FDA drug alerts, and an index of recently reported adverse events.
FDA: Drugs
Reports Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)

Duquesne Quick Links

Mobile Health Sciences Resources

Gumberg Library Mobile Health Sciences Resources

Use the camera on your smartphone to scan the QR code above to view drug-related databases, mobile websites, and apps, such as Clinical Pharmacology, Micromedex, ePocratesRx, and TOXNET.

General EBP Databases

These are resources for finding EBP articles, reviews, and more.

ACCESSSS Smart Search
Provided by McMaster PLUS™
ACP Journal Club
Selection of reports and systematic reviews from biomedical literature
The Campbell Library
Contains systematic reviews
Clickable EBP Pyramid
Use this link to select EBP resources by type based on the EBP Pyramid.
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases that contain evidence for informed healthcare decisions
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, similar to the discontinued AHRQ National Guidelines Clearinghouse
OTSeeker
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy.
PEDro
PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Databases, is a free database of randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
SUMSearch
Searches free access databases and groups the results by literature type
TRIP Database
Health professional's search tool for quality EBP

Subject Guide

David Nolfi

Email Me

Contact:

‪412.396.4931

Subjects: General/Multidisciplinary, Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing