LibGuides: African American Catholics: Home

Photo of Fr. Augustine Tolton,

Photo of Augustine Tolton, the first African American priest

Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide designed to link users to information about African American Roman Catholics. It will point the user to books and other materials in the DUQSearch online catalog, and will directly link to relevent special collections, both print and electronic, avallable on the Internet. We hope you will find this guide useful.

Learn the Basics

Black Bishops of the United States

"What We Have Seen and Heard: A Pastoral Letter on Evangelization

American Catholic History Classroon

from Catholic University of America

National Office of Black Catholics

The archives for this important African American Catholic organization is housed at a non-CRRA institution. We are providing a link to the collection because of its importance to the topic.

National Office of Black Catholics Archive

Resources from the Internet

African American Affairs (United States Conference of Catholic Bishops)
The Subcommittee on African American Affairs (SCAAA) is the official voice of the African American Catholic community. The subcommittee attends to the needs and aspirations of African American Catholics regarding issues of pastoral ministry, evangelization, social justice, worship, development of leaders and other areas of concern.
African American Catholics in the United States (Marquette University)
African American Catholics of the United States contains over 200 images of African American clergy, religious, and laity, plus others in ministry to them, in parishes and schools, religious communities, and lay organizations since 1900.
Black & Indian Mission Office
The Black and Indian Mission Office is comprised of three distinct but inter-related organizations, each with its own purpose and history, but all seeking to fulfill the one Mission to the Missions! Founded by the Catholic bishops of the United States, each organization cooperates with local diocesan communities to spread the Good News of Jesus Christ and respond to real and pressing needs on the ground.
Catholic Negro-American Mission Board Records
Records of the three agencies of the Black and Indian Mission Office -- the Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions, the Black and Indian Mission Collection (Commission for Catholic Missions among Colored People and Indians) and The Catholic Negro-American Mission Board (Catholic Board for Mission Work among Colored People), which support Catholic evangelization in the United States and dependent territories for African Americans and Native Americans.
Institute for Black Catholic Studies
The historical roots of the Institute for Black Catholic Studies at Xavier University of Louisiana are intertwined with those of the National Black Catholic Clergy Caucus (NBCCC), which was founded in 1968 and the Black Catholic Theological Symposium (BCTS) that convened for the first time October 12-15, 1978. The Symposium was organized under the auspices of the NBCCC and directed by the creative leadership of the Reverend Thaddeus Posey, OFM Cap.
National Black Catholic Congress
The National Black Catholic Congress, comprised of member organizations, represents African American Roman Catholics, working collaborating with National Roman Catholic organizations.
National Black Sisters Conference Records
The National Black Sisters' Conference (NBSC) was established in 1968 to educate, support, and communicate to African American women religious. Sister Martin de Porres Grey, R.S.M., organized the first meeting and was elected president.
While confronting racism in society and the Catholic Church, its mission has been to foster:Education and support of African American sisters toward effective ministry;
Education toward community control of African American communities;Training in community organization and development;
Development of religious education from an African American perspective; Development of African American spirituality; Identification of African American sisters throughout the United States
National Catholic Conference for Interracial Justice
Records of the national federation of Catholic human relations agencies and interracial councils, founded in 1960 following the U.S. Catholic bishops' statement on racial discrimination and segregation.
Records of the Catholic Interracial Council of New York
The CICNY Records contains correspondence, pamphlets, meeting minutes, article drafts, reports, photographs, ephemera, and clippings that span 1921 to 1975. The materials from 1921 to 1933 relate to the Cardinal Gibbons Institute and the materials from 1934 to 1975 document CICNY offices and activities. The CICNY continued to function into the late 1990s, but the collection does not document its last 25 years.

Find Books

Click a link below to find all items under that subject heading in the DUQSearch online catalog.

Find Articles

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

How do you find full text?

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Published since 1964, the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Content Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present; citations and links to books and media reviews; coverage for some titles goes back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

shmr

Jesuits of the USA Central & Southern Provinces

New CRRA Box

Click the button above to visit the CRRA website, home of the Catholic Portal, a catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly materials in the library collections of the over 40 member institutions of the CRRA. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full-text!