Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Find Articles: General Databases Covering Philosophy
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research -- includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.
