The world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Written and edited by nearly 9,000 subject experts, Grove’s 51,000 articles offer clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies. Grove’s 33,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Also features more than 5,000 images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples.
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
The gateway to Grove Music Online, also with access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music, the authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. Duquesne has subscriptions to the following modules: "VSI Art & Humanities", "VSI Social Science", "VSI Medicine & Health", "VSI Science & Mathematics" and "VSI Law"
A leading authority on classical music for over 90 years. Every issue features unrivaled coverage of the classical music world, including in-depth interviews, reviews and articles written by globally acclaimed expert critics.
This database duly cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature with coverage spanning from 1976 to the present. Contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 430 international music periodicals, plus full text for 110 journals. It covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
The UK’s leading magazine for music teachers, whether classroom or instrumental
Whether you teach class music, or are a peripatetic/private instrumental teacher, Music Teacher will provide you with invaluable ideas for your teaching, with substantial online lesson materials and a range of practical features.
The world's leading magazine at the intersection of music and technology. Every issue comes packed with in-depth features on music recording and production, including interviews with visionaries, gear reviews, buyer's guides, and easy-to-follow tutorials — all written by our team of industry experts and musicians.
Indexes the literature covering all areas of music, including historical musicology; ethnomusicology; instruments and voice; librarianship; performance practice and notation; theory and analysis; pedagogy; liturgy; dance; criticism and music therapy. The database encompasses significant writings on music from all types of scholarly works produced worldwide, such as articles, books, dissertations, record and concert reviews and more. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
An account of the evolution of Western classical music by musicologist Richard Taruskin, including 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with sophisticated search and browse functionality designed to maximize the dynamic possibilities of online reading and research.
The largest, most diverse catalog of music content in the world for students, scholars, and patrons of the arts. This streaming multimedia resource from Alexander Street Press features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
Streaming audio for 75,000+ tracks of classical, jazz, and world music, Naxos also includes opera summaries, librettos, and other text resources related to the study of music. (note: 10 users may access Naxos simultaneously)
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research -- includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.