The advanced search is a great way to incorporate filters and more complex searches from the start. You can find it underneath the main search bar on Gumberg’s home page.
The search boxes allow you to search for multiple things at a time, or to exclude certain terms from your search.
Example:
AND - includes articles that discuss PTSD in teens or young adults
OR - includes articles that discuss PTSD and teens or young adults
NOT - includes articles that discuss PTSD in teens or young adults, and excludes articles that discuss ADHD
You can make your search more specific by searching specific fields instead of all of them at once.
You can search just by author, title, subject, journal title, abstract, all text*, and ISBN/ISSN. If you know the author or title of the article you’re looking for, this is a great limiter to get precisely what you want.
*While searching "All Text" is an option, this catches all of the text in every result, so it is not very useful because it gives you overly large and irrelevant results.
You have a number of additional search options below the advanced search bars.
This tab includes the same set of filters available from the search results page. It includes general filters: publish date, source type, and content provider. It also includes filters for specific collections, journals, and languages.
Search modes allow you to customize the range of your search to include similar terms or any of your terms.
If you are not getting enough results, expanders let you add similar search terms, equivalent subjects, and to search the full text of articles in addition to the title and abstract.
The publications tab allows you to search specific journals for articles in our EBSCO databases. While this does not cover every journal we provide access to, it's a good way to narrow your search.
