Once you run a search, you are likely to get thousands of results. Use the filters under the search box to make your results more relevant.
Click All Filters to see additional options to narrow your search, and view or change currently active filters. Here, you will also see a list of your currently active filters, and can remove them.
Lock Filters: When you have an active filter, you can choose to lock them. This means that if you make a new search, your filters will automatically apply the current ones to your new search.
Double check your filter settings when making a new search to make sure you're getting the results you want!
Under this tab, you have a range of general filters:
You can filter your results to have been published in the last 1, 5, or 10 years, or set a custom range.
Here, you can filter by database. This is very useful since you may not see the results from every database with a basic search, it is a good way to narrow things down.
Here you can filter by what types of results you want to see. For example, if you want articles but not books or magazines, you can toggle “Academic Journals”.
You can also filter for audio-visual sources, including music scores, audio recordings, and video recordings. For our online recordings, the results entry will take you right to the video in the database.
On the left panel, you have a number of features and options to help you organize, manage, and find sources.
To use some of these features, you will need to create a MyEBSCO account. It is free to make, and you should use your DUQ email to sign up. This will grant access to the My Dashboard features detailed below.
My DashboardHere, you can create different folders to organize saved sources. This is a great way to keep articles for a specific project or class together.
This is a general folder that contains all of the sources you’ve bookmarked while searching. It’s a good space to start organizing your references.
This space stores your recent searches and items you clicked on for you. However, it will not save if you log out of DUQSearch so make sure you save things here separately in between sessions if you need to.
Here, you can see the Gumberg Library items you have placed on hold, currently have on loan, and any fees you may owe.
You can set alerts for specific journals that will notify you when an new issue has been published.
To Set a Journal Alert: Go to Advanced Search → Publications → Select Database → Search for Journal → Click three dots and create alert
If you have a more complicated search string that you want to continue to get updates for, you can set an alert for it.
You can customize your search alerts to match your research needs and preferences. It will send you an email when new results are available for your search, and it can do so on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
This will open a new search bar for you, without any of the filters you used in a previous search.
The Publication Finder allows you to search directly for journal titles, or browse by database or subject!
It also allows you to search for specific journals and books within our databases that you have access to. This is good for finding journals in a particular subject or database, or checking if we provide access to a specific journal that you’re looking for.
The concept map is a tool that helps you explore concepts and related ideas and topics. It’s a great visualization tool if you are exploring a topic and haven’t committed to a thesis yet.
The map will show you related ideas to your central concept, and you can add them to the search builder or explore them in more depth.
From the search builder, you can preview the results of your current search to see if it’s pointing you in the right direction. You can also toggle the AND to OR if you want to expand your search results.
Selecting “See Full Results” will run that search normally and give you sources.
The grid view will display the same information as the map, but organized differently.
This button will take you to the Quick Start Guide, which reviews the main features of DUQSearch, which is hosted on EBSCO’s platform. They have guides on the new features mentioned in this guide, as well as guides on searching help and using the tools on the platform.
This lists all of the publications that are available in the selected database.
There are two quick links on the left panel for your convenience.
