Skip to main content

Duquesne University Archives and Special Collections: University Archives

About the archives

The University Archives appraises, collects, arranges, preserves, and makes accessible records of permanent value which document the mission, history, work, and organization of Duquesne University. It serves as a centralized repository for historical information about the University’s schools, departments, people, events, buildings, and activities. Its collections are extremely diversified and include all types of documents and artifacts, maps, architectural drawings, audiovisual material, and sports films, as well as textiles related to the history of Duquesne University. The University Archives regularly organizes exhibitions to display a selection of its collections.

Search the Archives

Using the archives and special collections

UPDATE: Due to the current situation, onsite access to the University Archives and Special Collections is available Tuesdays and Thursdays by appointment only. Onsite research is limited to one person per visit. Please note that face masks must be worn by all patrons in compliance with safety guidelines. Reference requests made by telephone and email will continue to be answered as soon as possible. Archival collections may also be searched online via our finding aids and digital collections (see section "Search the Archives" for links).

The University Archives is open to the entire Duquesne community, alumni, and the general public. Reference and research requests may be made by telephone and email. Documents, books and other materials housed in the University Archives and Special Collections are rare or unique and do not circulate. Archival collections are to be used only in the designated reading area. Patrons are required to use pencils while working with collections. Photocopying is permitted at the discretion of the University Archivist. Photocopies will be made by a member of the Archives staff or by patrons authorized to take materials to an appropriate copy machine in the library. They will be required to leave a form of identification with the staff until the material is returned. The University Archives reserves the right to limit the use of fragile, deteriorating, or rare material that may be further damaged by handling. However, every attempt will be made to make collections available.

It is necessary to schedule an appointment to have access to the University Archives.

For reference requests or to make an appointment, contact Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections, at 412-396-4870 or whitet@duq.edu. Reference requests will be answered within six weeks at most.

Transfer of records

The University Archives is the official repository for all non-current and inactive records of Duquesne University that are determined by the University Archivist to have enduring administrative, historic or legal value. Please contact the University Archivist before your department or committee disposes of or transfers records. See The Administrative Policies, TAP 39: Records Retention for more details.

Donations

The University Archives welcomes donations of records, photographs, and other materials that document Duquesne’s history. Those wishing to donate to the collections should contact the University Archivist.

Location

First floor of the Gumberg Library

Duquesne University

600 Forbes Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15282

Contact

Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections
First Floor, Gumberg Library
Hours by appointment
412.396.4870
whitet@duq.edu

Librarian