Book (Print)
Author, A. A. (Copyright Year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
| Sapolsky, R. M. (2017). Behave: The biology of humans at our best and worst. Penguin Books. |
Parenthetical citation: (Sapolsky, 2017)
Book with Multiple Authors (Print)
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Copyright Year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
| Burley, J., & Harris, J. (2002). A companion to genethics. Blackwell. |
Parenthetical citation: (Burley & Harris, 2002)
Book with DOI or nondatabase URL (Electronic)
Author, A. A. (Copyright Year). Title of book. Publisher. DOI or URL
Example:
|
Rabinowitz, F. E. (2019). Deepening group psychotherapy with men: Stories and insights for the journey. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000132-000 |
(See below for books accessed in academic research databases)
Parenthetical citation: (Rabinowitz, 2019)
Book without DOI Accessed in a Research Database (Electronic)
Author, A. A. (Copyright Year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
|
Litwack, G. (2022). Human biochemistry. (2nd ed.) Academic Press. |
(Do not include a URL or database information for works from academic research databases)
Parenthetical citation: (Litwack, 2022)
Chapter in an Edited Book without DOI Accessed in a Research Database (Electronic)
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Copyright Year). Title of the book chapter. In A.A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp.
#-#). Publisher.
Example:
|
Atmar, R. L., & Englund, J. A. (2019). Rhinoviruses. In J. D. Cherry, G. J. Harrison, S. L. Kaplan, W. J. Steinbach, & P. J. Hotez (Eds.), Feigin and Cherry's textbook of pediatric infectious diseases (8th ed., pp. 1545-1558.e6). Elsevier. |
Parenthetical citation: (Atmar & Englund, 2019)
Chapter in an Edited Book without DOI (Print)
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Copyright Year). Title of the book chapter. In A.A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (2nd ed., pp.
#-#). Publisher.
Example:
|
Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.), Principles and practice for forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). CRC Press. |
Parenthetical citation: (Weinstock et al., 2003)
Book Review From a Website
Author of Review's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of Review. [Review of the book Title of Book: by
Book Author's First Initial. Last Name]. Title of Website, URL
Example:
|
Bell, M. S. (2006, December 31). Are you my mother? [Review of the book Let the northern lights erase your name: by V. Vida]. The New York Times Book Review, https://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/31/books/review/Bell.t.html?ref-review |
Parenthetical citation: (Bell, 2006)
Anthology
Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year). Title of book. Publisher
Example:
|
Gold, M. (Ed.). (1999). The complete social scientist: A Kurt Lewin reader. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10/1037/10319-000 |
Parenthetical citation: (Gold, 1999)
Encyclopedia
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (xx ed.). Website. http://xxxxx
Example:
|
Wheeler, W. (2019). Martin Heidegger. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.c), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/ |
Parenthetical citation: (Wheeler, 2019)
To see more examples of book references, check out the sample references in Academic Writer.
