See the resources below for more imaging and videos relevant to anatomy.
Images
Anatomy of the Human Body: Henry Gray (1918)The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
BIODIC - AnatomyInitially dedicated specifically to biology students, teachers, and teacher trainees, biodic opened to a wider public since 1999. It offers today the widest series of electron micrographs available on the web in the field of biology: over 1600 images are currently available in high resolution.
Chest X-Ray AtlasThe atlas may be utilized by any student wishing to gain more knowledge regarding chest x-rays. It is anticipated that you will continue to read textbooks, and use this module for review purposes.
MedPix - National Library of MedicineMedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.
Open Access Biomedical Image Search EngineOpen-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images.
Sectional Anatomy of the Human BrainThe interactive brain atlas shows sections and provides location and names of all major structures and subdivisions of the brain. Contains an alphabetical list of structures and search functionality in several languages. Sections in high resolution are offered as images and in the virtual microscope.
The Visible Human ProjectThe NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.
Videos
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)This link opens in a new windowA collection of videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, and newsreels (among others) covering a variety of topics and events.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human AnatomyThis link opens in a new windowThis is an online set of 330 fully narrated, 3D-rotational gross anatomy videos organized by region (Upper Extremity, Lower Extremity, The Trunk, Head & Neck, Internal Organs). Created by Dr. Robert D. Acland (University of Louisville School of Medicine), the site helps to facilitate understanding or review of human anatomy. Recent enhancements such as self-assessment based on the Practical Exam and the addition of Inner Ear videos further support teaching and learning for faculty, students, practitioners, and patients.
JoVEThis link opens in a new windowA peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical scientific experiments in a video format.
