Welcome to the Gumberg Library guide on using OTDBASE, an occupational therapy abstract database available through Gumberg Library. See the side navigation menu for quick access to the topics covered in this guide. For further assistance with this or other research topics, please see the Getting Help section of this guide.
OTDBASE is a database that contains abstracts from national and international occupational therapy journals. The design and content of the database allows the user to save time researching by abstract rather than full text and provides a wide range of knowledge from its variety of sources.
A unique aspect of OTDBASE is the variety of journals from which it draws its abstracts. The database provides access to over 8,000 abstracts from over 20 international and national occupational therapy journals.
For additional information on each journal that OTDBASE contains, please click the link below:
The expansive list of journals located in OTDBASE means that it might be a more advantageous source than other commonly used medical databases. OTDBASE is an indexing and abstracting service, meaning it will provide the identifying information for an article but not the article in its entirety. This enables the database to compile a vast amount of information in one place providing a streamlined research process for users that would ordinarily need to search across multiple databases for the same results.
The document included in this section shows the coverage comparisons for journals in OTDBASE compared to CINAHL as an example of the breadth and variety offered through OTDBASE compared to another popular medical database.
