Gumberg Library has many eBooks and print books related to medicine. Searching DUQSearch with keywords will return results for eBooks, print books, journal articles, newspaper articles, and more.
Medical eBook Collections
AccessAnethesiology
This link opens in a new windowoffers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device.
AccessEmergency Medicine
This link opens in a new windowAccessEmergency Medicine from McGraw-Hill Medical helps meet the immediate needs of the emergency department (ED) – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online emergency medicine resource provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies, to poisoning and trauma – specifically designed for optimized viewing on any device.
Authoritative, trusted, and content rich, AccessEmergency Medicine is the field’s leading emergency medicine resource guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes five top academic experts led by Judith E, Tintinalli, MD, MS, FACEP, and features content co-published with the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP).
AccessEmergency Medicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel on their clerkship; assists residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading emergency textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their recertification exam.
AccessMedicine
This link opens in a new windowProvides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks with optimized content for any mobile device.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection
This link opens in a new windowCases in Case Files Collection provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor.
Cases in Case Files Collection are organized into categories and based off different resources, including:
Basic Science Cases
Clinical Rotation Cases
Post-Graduate Cases
NOTE: Accessing the AccessMedicine Case Files Collection requires you to sign in using MyAccess.
AccessPediatrics
This link opens in a new windowccessPediatrics from McGraw-Hill Medical covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive online pediatric resource provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review -- all in one place.
Authoritative, trusted, and content-rich, AccessPediatrics is an innovative pediatric website guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the four of the field’s top academic experts and is led by Camille Sabella, MD, of the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine and the Center of Pediatric Infectious Diseases at the Pediatrics Institute, Cleveland Clinic Children’s Hospital.
AccessPediatrics can help medical students to excel in their clerkship through use of use videos, cases, and Q&A; assist residents with leading pediatric textbooks and vignette style exam prep that will establish an important foundation for future practice, and allow practicing pediatricians to quickly search for relevant clinical information.
AccessPharmacy
This link opens in a new windowProvides access to pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, cases, Q&A, NAPLEX review, and other resources that support pharmacy students as well as practicing pharmacists.
AccessPhysiotherapy
This link opens in a new windowAccessPhysiotherapy is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool optimized for viewing on any device.
Guided by an esteemed Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, AccessPhysiotherapy provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, as well as enable physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.
AccessSurgery
This link opens in a new windowAccessSurgery from McGraw-Hill Medical introduces a whole new dimension to surgical education and clinical practice. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource enhances medical knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries – all in one place.
Optimized for viewing on any mobile device and guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Gerard M. Doherty, MD and F. Charles Brunicardi, MD, AccessSurgery is the field’s most trusted surgery resource.
AccessSurgery provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in their surgery clerkship; assists residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading surgical textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; and allows practicing surgeons to brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their Maintenance of Certification Exam.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This link opens in a new windowThis is an online set of 330 fully narrated, 3D-rotational gross anatomy videos organized by region (Upper Extremity, Lower Extremity, The Trunk, Head & Neck, Internal Organs). Created by Dr. Robert D. Acland (University of Louisville School of Medicine), the site helps to facilitate understanding or review of human anatomy. Recent enhancements such as self-assessment based on the Practical Exam and the addition of Inner Ear videos further support teaching and learning for faculty, students, practitioners, and patients.
ClinicalKey
This link opens in a new windowElsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
ClinicalKey Student
This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey Student enables deeper insights into student performance, personalized feedback and improved student engagement. A multi-purpose learning environment for both faculty and students, where users can assess, study and review in a single platform.
JAMAEvidence - McGraw-Hill
This link opens in a new windowJAMAevidence is an online medical resource helping decision-makers to identify the best available evidence. It provides students, residents, fellows, and clinicians with essential content from Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3e, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience.
LWW Health Library: Board Review Series
This link opens in a new windowThe LWW Health Library Board Review Series covers material in
the primary basic sciences—such as gross anatomy, embryology,
neuroscience, and more—that are addressed on the USMLE Step 1
exam. Textbooks and self-assessments are geared specifically to test
prep success.
LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations
This link opens in a new windowLWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations offers a comprehensive content collection targeting each of the core clinical rotations, from Internal Medicine to OB/GYN. Ideal for seeing principles in action with patients and prepping for board exams.
LWW Health Sciences: Premium Basic Sciences Collection
This link opens in a new windowThis resource includes the LWW Health Library: Premium Basic
Sciences Collection as well as combining the Integrated Basic Sciences collection, the Lippincott Illustrated Review book series, the gold-standard Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking, and more.
PsychiatryOnline
This link opens in a new windowA powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
