Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

The Papacy: A Research Guide: Home

St. Peter being presented with the keys to the Kingdom of Heaven. Meister des Perikopenbuches Heinrichs II. Public domain. Wikimedia Commons.


Click the button above to visit the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) website, home of the Catholic Portal, a catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly materials in the library collections of the over 40 member institutions of the CRRA. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full-text!

CRRA has a growing collection of subject guides to assist users of their website in doing research. Click the link below to see these subject guides.

CRRA Subject Guides

Need Help?

If you need help with research on this or any other topic, you can click on the Ask a Librarian link in the box above to see how to contact a reference librarian. You can also contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. I am the library's liaison to the Theology Department. The best way to reach me with a question is via email

bergfeltt@duq.edu

Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide on the Papacy. According to the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition, "the papacy is the central governing institution of the Roman Catholic church under the leadership of the bishop of Rome. The word papacy "derives from the Latin papa, an affectionate term for 'father.'"

This research guide is designed to get researchers quickly to books and periodical articles on the office of the papacy, Vatican City, and individual popes, their writings and activities.

To see basic articles on the Papacy, click the links directly below. If you want to read the articles from off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass information after you click on the title.

Papacy from the New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

Papacy from the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition

Reference Works

Some of these titles are electronic reference works. To use them off-campus, you will need to enter you Multipass username and password when you click on a title.

Find Books By & About Individual Popes

To conduct a search using the QuickSearch Advanced Catalog Search, click here.

Once there, to find books by or about an individual pope, enter his name in the first search box according to this pattern: Name, Number (Roman numeral, if they have one), and the word "pope." For example, to search for Pope Benedict XVI, we would type:

Benedict, XVI, pope

(You don't need to capitalize or use commas.)

Books by a Pope

To find books by a particular pope, type the pope's name as instructed above in the search box and choose "Author" from the menu to the left of the search box. The click Search.

Books about a Pope

To find books about a particular pope, type the pope's name as instructed above in the search box and choose "Subject" from the menu to the left of the search box. The click Search.

Click an image to see it enlarged

Finding Encyclicals

Finding the Text of an Encyclical

To find an encyclical in the online catalog, click here. Then type the Latin title for it in the first search box and choose "Title" from the pulldown menu on the left. In the second search box, type the name of the pope who wrote the encyclical following the pattern described in the box above, and change the menu to the left of this search box to "Author." (If you don't know the name of the pope, leave this out.) Then click Search.

Finding Information About an Encyclical

To find sources in which an encyclical is discussed as a subject, type the Latin title for it in the first search box and choose "Subject" from the pulldown menu on the left. Then click Search.

Click an image to see it enlarged


Find Articles

These databases may be accessed from off campus. To do that, when you click on the link for a database, you will be asked for your Multipass username and password. Enter that information and you will then be able to search the databases as if you were in the library.