Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

John Henry Newman: Home

 

Cardinal Newman in 1887

Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Online Reference Collections

For basic information about topics in all disciplines these databases of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sorts of reference works can be extremely useful.

To use them off campus you will need to enter your Multipass information.

 

John Henry Newman (1801-1890), English theologian, philosopher, educator, novelist, poet and man of letters continues to engage the interest of scholars even 120 years after his death. His writing and thinking have been so important that he has been called the “Father of Vatican II.” Cardinal Newman was beatified by Pope Benedict XVI in September 2010. This research guide has been prepared to assist researchers in finding their way through the wealth of materials available on this influential churchman.

Use the tabs on the top of the page to move through the sections of this guide.


Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, click on the Ask a Librarian link on the blue bar at the top of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.

More Selected Print Books

Learn the Basics

Get to know John Henry Newman through these articles from electronic encyclopedias. If you want to read them off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass information when you click a link.

New Catholic Encyclopedia, Supplement 2011

New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

Dictionary of National Biography

Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Edition

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition

Great Victorian Lives, An Era of Obituaries

Selected Print Books