Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Mystery & Detective Fiction: A Research Guide: Home

 banner

Mystery & Detective Fiction

"The first essential value of the detective story lies in this, that it is the earliest and only form of popular

literature in which is expressed some sense of the poetry of modern life."

G. K. Chesterton

 

Sherlock Holmes

Portrait of the detective by Sidney Paget. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Creator of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

Photo of the author taken in 1914 by Arthur Genthe. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Page created by:

Page created by:

Ted Bergfelt, MLS

Humanities Librarian

Library Liaison to the English Department

412.396.55351

Email

Dorothy L. Sayers, Creator of Lord Peter Wimsey.

Source

 

Welcome to this research guide designed to point the student researcher to the many resources offered by the Gumberg Library on mystery & detective fiction. It will provide access to:

  • Reference works, both print and electronic
  • Books
  • Articles from magazines and journals
  • Videos
  • Information on citation in MLA and Chicago styles
  • Information of how to get materials not owned by the Gumberg Library

Use the tabs at the top of the screen to go to the different parts of the research guide.


Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.


Print Reference Works

Online Reference Collections

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature, including mystery and detective fiction. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

Literature Databases

Gumberg Library offers access to many databases providing citations to journal articles, and, in many cases, the full text of articles dealing with authors and their works. Click here for tips on searching these databases. All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Databases Covering Literature

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.