Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

MLA Citation Help: Creating a Works Cited Page

Works Cited Page Examples

Here are examples for an MLA-style Works Cited Page. The Works Cited page contains citations for various resources and materials that you encountered throughout your research process. Each reference will provide the formatting and an example.

The examples on this page were taken from the MLA Handbook, 8th Edition.


           

Books (Print): One Author 
(Find this example on page 21 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication date.

Jacobs, Alan. The Pleasure of Reading in an Age of Distraction. Oxford UP, 2011.
 

Books (Print): Two Authors
(Find this example on page 21 of the handbook)

Last Name. First Name, & First Name Last Name. Title of Book.

Publisher, Publication date.

Dorris, Michael & Louise Erdrich. The Crown of Columbus.

HarperCollins Publishers, 1999.


Journal Article (Print)
(Find this example on page 21 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #,

Publication date, pp. #.

Baron, Naomi S. "Redefining Reading: The Impact of Digital Communication

Media." PMLA, vol. 128, no. 1, Jan. 2013, pp. 193-200.


Selected Work in Reference Collection or Anthology (Print)
(Find this example on page 27 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Work." Title of Collection, edited by

Editor's Name(s), Publisher(s), Year, page range of entry.

Dewar, James A., and Peng Hwa Ang. "The Cultural Consequences of Printing

and the Internet." Agents of Change: Print Culture Studies after Elizabeth L.

Eisenstein, edited by Sabrina Alcorn Baron et al., University of Massachusetts

Press/Center for the Book, Library of Congress, 2007, pp. 365-77.

Government Document (Print)
(Find more information on corporate authors in section 2.1.3, or page 104, of the handbook)

Organizational Author. Title of Document. Publication Office, Publication date.

United States Government Accountability Office. Climate Change: EPA and DOE

Should Do More to Encourage Progress Under Two Voluntary Programs.

Government Printing Office, 2006.


Photograph, Painting, or Sculpture
(Find a similar example on page 49 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. Title of ArtworkComposition date, medium of the piece,

location of institution where artwork is held.

Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800, oil on canvas, Museo del Prado, 

Madrid.


eBooks
(Find this example on page 34 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication date.

eBook host, http://www.xxxxx.

Gikandi, Simon. Ngugi wa Thiong'o. Cambridge University Press, 2000. 

ACLS Humanitites E-Bookhdl.handle.net/2027/heb.07588.0001.001.

Works Cited Page Examples

 Online and Audiovisual Resources


                

Journal Article (Online)
(Find this example on page 48 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #,

Publication date. Database title, doi: or URL.

Chan, Evans. "Postmodernism and Hong Kong Cinema." Postmodern Culture, vol. 10,

no. 3, May 2000. Project Muse, doi: 10.1353/pmc.2000.0021.


Web Post or Article (Online)
(Find this example on page 44 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Title of Website, Day Month Year,

www.xxxx.

Hollmichel, Stefanie. "The Reading Brain: Differences between Digital and Print."

So Many Books, 25 Apr. 2013, 

somanybooksblog.com/2013/04/25/the-reading-brain-differences-between-

digital-and-print.


Website with an Author*
(Find this example on page 28 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. Website Title. Publication Date,

www.xxxxx.

Hollmichel, Stefanie. So Many Books. 2003-16,

somanybooksblog.com.

* websites with no author or date will omit the Author and Publication sections.


  

Motion Picture
(Find this example on page 41 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name, director. Title of Motion Picture. Studio, Publication date.

Jonze, Spike, director. Adaptation. Columbia Pictures, 2002.


Episode in Television Series
(Find this example on page 28 of the handbook)

"Title of episode." Television Series, created by First-Last Name [series creator],

performance by First Name, Last Name [lead actor/actress], season #,

episode #, Publisher, Production date.

"Hush." Buffy the Vampire Slayer, created by Joss Whedon, performance by

Sarah Michelle Gellar, season 4, episode 10, Mutant Enemy, 1999.
 

Sound Recording (Song)
(Find this example on page 28 of the handbook)

Artist Title. "Song title." Title of AlbumPublisher, Publication date.

Beyonce. "Pretty Hurts." Beyonce. Parkwood Entertainment, 2013.
 

Photograph, Painting, or Sculpture (Online/Reproduction of Work)
(Find a similar example on page 50 of the handbook)

Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Composition date, medium of the piece,

location of image.

Campbell, William. Pittsburgh 1904. 1903,

chromolithograph, www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2006676672/.