LibGuides: Data Resources: Data Repositories

Data Repositories

Online data repositories store a variety of files such as data files, codebooks, data dictionaries, supplementary files, and README.txt files. There are multidisciplinary repositories such as Harvard Dataverse and subject specific repositories such as The Genomic Cancer Commons. Many repositories encourage researchers to make their raw data, code, analyzed data, data dictionaries, data codebooks etc available on repositories. You can find a list of repositories relevant to various fields below, or search a general directory such as re3data to find a relevant repository.

figshare
This is a repository where you can upload files up to 5GB and privately share them with others or make them publicly available. Data published on Figshare will have a Creative Commons License.
Dataverse
With over 75,000, this is a very popular place for researchers to share their data. It was created by Harvard, but researchers from other institutions are able to submit their data.
Zenodo
Upload, describe and publish your data files. No size/format restrictions.
Open Data Repositories
This is a list of repositories for open data. The repositories are listed by subject.
re3data
Search for repositories from different disciplines listed on re3data. Find a repository you'd like to submit your data to or search the data within a repository. The icons at the top of each data repository will show whether the repository is open access, if it promotes a certain repository standard etc.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1870-2012)
The Census Bureau collected data on a variety of topics in this source.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Data from 2013 onward.

National Crime Victimization Survey
This Bureau of Justice Statistics survey contacts people about their victimization. This is seen as more comprehensive than police report data because it includes unreported crimes. 1973-present.
Uniform Crime Reporting
The FBI compiles data about reported crime from law agencies throughout the US. 1930-present. Not all types of crime are in this dataset.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Data Sets
The BJS collects data on a variety of topics including human trafficking, juveniles in criminal court, adults on probation, jails etc.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Higher Education

Integrated Post-secondary Data System (IPEDS)
IPEDS collects data about colleges and universities.

Student Performance

Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMMS)
Every 4 years since 1995, the TIMMS math and science tests have been used to compare student achievement across countries.
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
The NAEP began in 1969 and is used to measure student achievement in different USA states. The NAEP is sometimes called "the nation's report card".
Programme for International Student Assessment

Education in Pennsylvania

PA State Education Data
This site has links to PA data about PSSA results, dropouts, teach quality etc.
Pennsylvania School Performance Profile
You can find a variety of information about specific schools on this website. Each PA school has a profile with data about race, school safety, special education, AP courses etc.

ICPSR
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 public-use files of research in the social and behavioral sciences.
Open ICPSR
Social Science and behavioral health research data.
General Social Survey
Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing
Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data
Harvard Dataverse
Kinsey Institute (human sexuality and relationships)
National Longitudinal Surveys
Pew Research
American Time Use Survey

United States

International

International Household Survey Network
This website is maintained by a network of international agencies and it contains datasets that you can search by variable, year, country etc.
Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development (BREAD)
BREAD is a nonprofit that promotes research on economic development and it maintains a list of surveys conducted throughout the world.
Socio
Links to international data.
World Values Survey
This survey has been conducted since 1981 in nearly 100 countries. The focus of these surveys is on beliefs, values, subjective well-being etc.
Global Barometers
These surveys focus on attaining public opinion about policy issues.
Pew Global Attitudes
Surveys conducted by Pew are listed as well as reports that analyze results of the surveys.
World Public Opinion
This data focuses on public opinion on international issues.

United States

International

Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys
MICS is conducted by UNICEF and it has been conducted since 1995. It focuses on well-being of mothers and children in 108 countries.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
The DHS are funded primarily by USAID and they are conducted in over 90 countries since 1984. Topics include malaria, nutrition, HIV and maternal and child health.
World Health Survey
This survey, conducted by the World Health Organization in 70 countries was implemented in 2002-2004. It focuses on adult health and health systems.

General

Dryad
Dryad is a repository for science data that often links the data to publications that used the data.

Biology

1000 Genomes
"The 1000 Genomes Project is a collaboration among research groups in the US, UK, and China and Germany to produce an extensive catalog of human genetic variation that will support future medical research studies."
Entrez Database
"Entrez is a molecular biology database system that provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data, gene-centered and genomic mapping information, 3D structure data, PubMed MEDLINE, and more. The system is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and is available via the Internet."
cBioPortal
Developed by Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, this website features cancer genomics datasets. It features data from tumor samples from many different cancer studies.
Dryad Digital Repository
The Dryad Digital Repository is a not-for-profit that makes data from scientific publications "discoverable, freely reusable, and citable."

Chemistry

Cambridge Structural Database
This is a "repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures"
Chemical Synthesis Database
"ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. This website contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density."
PubChem
"PubChem contains the largest collection of publicly available chemical information." It includes data related to compounds, protein targets, gene targets, bioassays, bioactivities and more.

Earth Science

US Geological Survey

International

Living Standards Measurement Study
LSMS is conducted by the World Bank in more than 35 countries since the 1980's. The surveys have covered a variety of topics including agriculture, time use, fertility, income, consumption, migration etc.
International Food Policy Research Institute Datasets
IFPRI conducts a variety of surveys related to food production, food prices, agriculture etc.
World Bank data
The World Bank conducts a variety of surveys that measure poverty, debt, investments etc.
International Monetary Fund data
The IMF collects data about a variety of topics such as exports, imports, debt, commodity pricing etc.
Center for the Study of African Economies at University of Oxford
The University of Oxford conducts a variety of surveys in different African nations.

Western Pennsylvania Regional Data Center