Historic Duquesne Duke: Scholarly Resources

The Burney Collection houses digitized, fully searchable published materials from England, the British Isles, and the English colonies, including newspapers, pamphlets, acts of Parliament, and more. Searches can be narrowed by topic, location, title, publication format, and frequency of publication.

A database of newspapers from the 1800's from the United States, including titles such as "The Pittsburgh Gazette," Baltimore's "Afro-American," etc. The fully searchable database can be filtered by location, year, keyword, article topic, and more.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

A compilation of digital newspaper archives from around the globe, in a number of languages. Some of the listed publications are behind paywalls.

Articles and essays published by Duquesne faculty, staff, students, and other university affiliates on Scopus.

The Duquesne Business Law Journal is a bi-annual publication, which focuses on topics currently affecting the world of business, evolving Supreme Court case law, and influential persons in the business community.

"This publication is dedicated to the advancement of scholarship in the field of law in which the contours of "justice" are most profoundly defined. -- Bruce A. Antkowiak"

Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). It spans titles from across the United States, dating back to as early as 1690.

A Library of Congress Flickr account housing imagery from their extensive collection if digitized newspapers. Strengths include early rotogravure printing, portraits, and images from the 1900's-1950's.

This webpage, sponsored by the Library of Congress' Serial & Government Publications Division, houses directories of relevant collections and finding aids, search tools, and national newspaper programs, as well as connecting users with librarians in the division for further inquiries.