Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies: A Resource Guide: Lit/Arts

Yoruba bronze head from the city of Ife, 17th century. Photo by WaynaQhapaq. Source: Wikimedia Commons


Electronic Reference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of collections of electronic reference works. To use these e-reference collections off-campus, you must enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.


You can learn 72 different languages through Mango Languages. Two of them are Igbo and Swahili. To use Mango off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.


Literature & the Arts

On this page you will find listed selected resources on African Literature, Music, and the Arts. You will find reference books, both print and electronic, databases useful for finding magazine and journal articles, links that will find books in the QuickSearch online catalog, and selected reliable websites.

Find Background: Literature & Film

To access electronic reference books from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on the title link.

Find Background: Music


Find Books

Click on a link below to find all books and other materials on that subject in the online catalog. To read any of the electronic books off-campus, you will first have to enter your Multipass information.


Click on the logo above to access a database containing the complete texts of novels, short stories,poems, and other kinds of literary works by major African Writers from the 1960s to the early 21st century. This database does not contain literary criticism. For that, see the links in the "Find Articles" box. To access the database off-campus, you will have to enter your Multipass information when you click the link.

Click the logo above to access a database of music recordings, containing all genres of music, including music of Africa. To access the database off-campus, you will have to enter your Multipass information when you click the link.


Selected E-Journals

To access some of the electronic journals from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

Find Articles

To use these databases off-campus you must enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.