Maasai Woman and Baby, 2008. Photo by William Warby. Used under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license. Source: Wikimedia Commons
Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of collections of electronic reference works. To use these e-reference collections off-campus, you must enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.
On this page you can find background information on anthropological and sociological concepts regarding Africans and the African Diaspora. You will find reference books, both print and electronic, databases useful for finding magazine and journal articles, links that will find books in the QuickSearch online catalog, and selected reliable websites.
Not all these reference works are devoted to Africa, but African cultures and topics are covered in them. To access electronic reference books from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on the title link.
A Companion to the Anthropology of Africa by 
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa: An Encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures by 
Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East by 
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Sub-Saharan Africa by 
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by 
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, 3rd editionThis is just a selection of African people groups for which books and other materials may be available at the Gumberg Library. Click on a link to search for all materials owned by the library on that group. To find books on a group not listed, try a subject search for the name of the group in the online catalog. There are links to it at the top and left of this screen.
To access some of the electronic journals from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.
To use these databases you must enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.
