LibGuides: Socrates: A Research Guide: Home

picture

"The Death of Socrates" by Mark Antokolski, 1875. Hermitage Museum. Photo by Alex Bakharev. Public domain. Wikimedia Commons

Primary Source Databases

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
This series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Includes the works of Anselm, Aquinas, Augustine, Berkeley, Calvin, Kant, Kiergegard, Plato, and Wittgenstein among others.
Project Perseus This link opens in a new window
The Perseus Project is a digital library project of Tufts University. The project assembles digital collections of humanities resources. It is hosted by the department of Classics. The project was founded in 1987 to collect and present materials for study of ancient Greece. The project has expanded its original scope; current collections cover Greco-Roman classics and the English Renaissance. (Description from Wikipedia.)
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
**Please note you will have to create a unique account on TLG to access content. **
Digitized literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.

Find articles

Find Articles

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window

Other Useful Information

Need help with citation? Click the link below for help in citing resources in the major styles.

Citing Your Sources

Gumberg doesn't have it? Click below to see your options .

Getting Materials from Other Libraries

Intro and basic articles

Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide on the quintessential philosopher, Socrates. The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy says this about Socrates (469-399 BCE): [He] is one of the few individuals whom one could say has so-shaped the cultural and intellectual development of the world that, without him, history would be profoundly different. He is best known for his association with the Socratic method of question and answer, his claim that he was ignorant (or aware of his own absence of knowledge), and his claim that the unexamined life is not worth living, for human beings. He was the inspiration for Plato, the thinker widely held to be the founder of the Western philosophical tradition. Plato in turn served as the teacher of Aristotle, thus establishing the famous triad of ancient philosophers: Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle. [To read the rest of the article click the first link below.]

This guide is designed to quickly connect the researcher with materials on Socrates available at the Gumberg Library.