Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women, Gender and Development Reader by
Publication Date: 2011-07-07
The Women, Gender and Development Reader II is the definitive volume of literature dedicated to women in the development process. Now in a fully revised second edition, the editors expertly present the impacts of social, political and economic change by reviewing such topical issues as migration, persistent structural discrimination, the global recession, and climate change.
Women, Gender, and Terrorism by
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
In the last decade the world has witnessed a rise in women's participation in terrorism. Women, Gender, and Terrorism explores women's relationship with terrorism, with a keen eye on the political, gender, racial, and cultural dynamics of the contemporary world.
Jacketed Women by
Publication Date: 2013-03-27
In 2004, the African Gender Institute ran the continental research project Mapping Sexualities. Among its objectives was the development of a research methodology for producing in-depth case studies of the dynamics of gender and contemporary sexual cultures in Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, and Uganda. Jacketed Women is the result of that research.
Women, Gender and Everyday Social Transformation in India by
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
The pace of socioeconomic transformation in India over the past two and a half decades has been formidable. This volume sheds light on how these transformations have played out at the level of everyday life to influence the lives of Indian women, and gender relations more broadly. Through ethnographically grounded case studies, the authors portray the contradictory and contested co-existence of discrepant gendered norms, values and visions in a society caught up in wider processes of sociopolitical change.
The Ashgate Research Companion to Women and Gender in Early Modern Europe by
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
Over the past three decades scholars have transformed the study of women and gender in early modern Europe. This Ashgate Research Companion presents an authoritative review of the current research on women and gender in early modern Europe from a multi-disciplinary perspective.
Transfeminist Perspectives in and Beyond Transgender and Gender Studies by
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
If feminist studies and transgender studies are so intimately connected, why are they not more deeply integrated? Offering multidisciplinary models for this assimilation, the vibrant essays in this book suggest timely and necessary changes for institutions of higher learning.
Muslim Women of Power by
Publication Date: 2010-12-30
Five women have served as leaders of Muslim countries, namely Megawati Sukarnoputri (Vice President of Indonesia, 1991-2001 and President 2002-4), Benazir Bhutto (PM of Pakistan, 1988-90 and 1993-6), Sheikh Hasina (PM of Bangladesh, 1996-2001), Khaleda Zia (PM of Bangladesh, 1991-5 and 2001-6) and Tansu Çiller (PM of Turkey, 1993-6). This is an extraordinary record and somewhat of a challenge to the widespread perception that Muslim women are oppressed. This study of the role of these five powerful Muslim women uses their life and work to explore relevant issues, such as the role of culture, gender in Islam and the nature of the Islamic state.
Gendering Border Studies by
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
This book explores this new interdisciplinary field and develops it further. The main questions it asks are: How do we define 'borders', 'frontiers' and 'boundaries' in different disciplinary approaches of gendered border studies? What were and are the main fields of gendered border studies in different fields? What might be important questions for future research?
Rural Gender Relations by
Publication Date: 2006-02-17
This book explores the gender effects of the current transformation of agriculture and rural life. Five themes are addressed: developments in rural gender theory and research methodology; changes in farm households; migration patterns of men and women in rural areas; the impact of national and international policies; and the construction of identities and definitions of femininity and masculinity as a result of rural change. Contributors include scholars from Europe, North America, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Click one of the subjects below to run a search in the library catalog:
The following databases have articles related to Women and Gender Studies:
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new windowAn indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowOffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.