Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Modernist Writers: Background

xxx

William Carlos Williams

William Carlos Williams

Passport photo, 1920. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Wallace Stevens

Wallace Stevens

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Wallace_Stevens.jpg

Online Reference Collections

Great Places to Start

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

ProQuest One Literature

For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.

Reference Sources

To use any of the electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.

More Reference Works

bottom