Detail from "Mary and Child Among the Saints and Angels," Saint Catherine's Monastery, Sinai, 6th Century. Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons
According to the New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd edition, "Since the 17th century, Mariology has designated the part of dogmatic theology that concerns the Blessed Virgin Mary in her relation to God and to her fellow creatures under God."
This page is designed to get researchers quickly to background information, books, and journal articles accessible through the Gumberg Library on Mariological topics.
See Chapter 8 of Lumen Gentium, entitled "The Blessed Virgin Mary, the Mother of God, in the Mystery of Christ and of the Church"
Dictionary of Catholic Devotions by 
Theotokos: A Theological Encyclopedia of the Blessed Virgin by The Library of Congress Subject Headings do not use the term "Mariology." Instead, they use "Mary, Blessed Virgin, Saint" as their way of refering to that concept.
Click on a link below to run a subject search for all books on that topic in the online catalog.
Click on a link below to run a subject search for all books on that topic in the online catalog.
In the case of each of these theologians who wrote on Mariology, the first link for the person, identified by the word "Author," will take you to all books written by that person in the online catalog. The second link, identified by the word "Subject," will take you to all books in the online catalog about that person and their works.
To access these databases, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted
To access these databases, please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted
Click the button above to visit the Atla/CRRA website, home now of the Catholic Portal, the online catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon scholarly Catholic materials in the library collections of the member institutions of the Atla/CRRA program. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full text!
An independent organization from its founding in 2008 until 2023, the Atla/CRRA program webpage will also connect you to the Catholic News Archive, and to the program's growing collection of LibGuides to assist users in locating scholarly research materials.
