LibGuides: Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI: Home

image

This research guide will connect you to reference works, print books and ebooks, databases for articles, and other information sources on Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI (1927-2022).

Introductory Articles

You will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

Introductory Books

Please enter your Multipass username and password when prompted

Benedict XVI: a Guide for the Perplexed by Tracey Rowland
Ebook. Click title to read.
The Essential Pope Benedict XVI by John F. Thornton
Call Number: BX1378.6 .A25 2007
The Ratzinger Reader
Ebook. Click title to read.
The Thought of Pope Benedict XVI New Edition by Aidan Nichols
Ebook. Click title to read.

Major Works

Papal Writings

Selected Scholarly Books

Called to Communion
Call Number: BX1746 .R36413 1996
Christianity and the Crisis of Cultures
Call Number: BR115 .W6 B36 2006X
Faith and the Future
Call Number: BT772 .R3513
The God of Jesus Christ
Call Number: BT113 .R3713
Introduction to Christianity
Call Number: BT993.2 .R313 1990
Jesus of Nazareth
Call Number: BT301.3 .B4613 2011x
Theological Highlights of Vatican II
Call Number: BX830 1962 .B4268 2009

Find Books

Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.

Themes, Related Topics, etc.

Find Dissertations

To access electronic resources you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window

Find Articles

You will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

How do you find full text?

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database, an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu, contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

videos?

Benedict XVI Videos

Catholic News Sites

Click the button above to visit the Atla/CRRA website, home now of the Catholic Portal, the online catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon scholarly Catholic materials in the library collections of the member institutions of the Atla/CRRA program. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full text!

An independent organization from its founding in 2008 until 2023, the Atla/CRRA program webpage will also connect you to the Catholic News Archive, and to the program's growing collection of LibGuides to assist users in locating scholarly research materials.

Atla/CRRA Program

–––– Need Help? ––––

If at any time you need help with using Gumberg Library resources, please contact Ted Bergfelt, Humanities Librarian, via email or by phone at 412-426-5430, 8:30 am-4:30 pm ET, Monday-Friday. If he is not available, Ask Gumberg

This research guide was created by Kaitlyn Nicholson, English Department Intern, January 2023.