LibGuides: Activism: Activism in the U.S.

Activism in the USA

Books/eBooks

See below for Gumberg books/eBooks related to activism in America.

How To Be An Antiracist

Print Book
Call Number: E184.A1 K344 2019

White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism

Print Book
Call Number: HT1521 .D486 2018

From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation

Print Book
Call Number: E185.86 .T373 2016

Civil Rights and Beyond : African American and Latino/a Activism in the Twentieth-Century United States

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

Divided Peoples: Policy, Activism, and Indigenous Identities on the U.S.-Mexico Border

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

Queer Brown Voices : Personal Narratives of Latina/o LGBT Activism

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

Standing with Standing Rock: Voices From the #NoDAPL Movement

Print Book
Call Number: E99.D1 S61835 2019

Indian Pilgrims: Indigenous Journeys of Activism and Healing with Saint Kateri Tekakwitha

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

Make Your Own History : Documenting Feminist and Queer Activism in the 21st Century

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

Diversifying Power: Why We Need Antiracist, Feminist Leadership on Climate and Energy

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

The Intersectional Approach: Transforming the Academy Through Race, Class, and Gender

Print Book
Call Number: HQ1180 .I5726 2009

For the Prevention of Cruelty: The History and Legacy of Animal Rights Activism in the United States

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

For the Wild : Ritual and Commitment in Radical Eco-Activism

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

Waging War on War: Peacefighting in American Literature

eBook
Authenticate with MultiPass

Subject Headings

Use these subjects in any of our databases or DUQSearch to find books, articles, and more! (Note: We've recommended a few databases below!)

Social Movements	Animal Rights Movement	Black Lives Matter Movement	Feminism OR Women's Rights Movement	Civil Rights Movement
LGBTQ+ Rights Movement	Grassroots Activism	Peace Movements	Occupy Movement	Youth Protest Movements
Internet AND Activism	Hacktivism	Political Participation in the United States	Political Activism in the United States	Community Activism

Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Published since 1964, the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Content Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present; citations and links to books and media reviews; coverage for some titles goes back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.

CQ Researcher: Social Movements This link will direct you right to CQ Researcher's Social Movements page. Explore subtopics such as Environmentalism, Prohibition, and Student Movements
CQ Researcher: Citizen Protests Read CQ Researcher's in-depth report on citizen protests.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Also includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer, designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas, as well as provide hundreds of general interest periodicals from around the world.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of SAGE journals that cover a wide array of interdisciplinary subject areas including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.

Activism

Activism in the USA

Books/eBooks

Subject Headings

​​​Databases

Databases