LibGuides: History 141: Environmental History (Dr. Simpson): Other Resources

Electronic Reference Works

Below is a list of relevant reference works that can be accessed electronically.

Green Culture: An A-to-Z Guide
Publication Date: 2011
Green Energy: An A-to-Z Guide by Dustin Mulvaney
Publication Date: 2010
Green Politics: An A-to-Z Guide by Dustin Mulvaney
Publication Date: 2010
Green Technology: An A-to-Z Guide by Dustin Mulvaney
Publication Date: 2010
The Environmental Debate:: A Documentary History...2nd edition by Peninah Neimark
Publication Date: 2011

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability

This ten-volume set includes concise overviews from experts on an array of sustainability-related topics, compiled into thematic volumes. The reader will find solid research data, thorough analyses, and jargon-free discussion, effectively transforming a fast-developing research domain.

Volume 1: The Spirit of Sustainability by Willis Jenkins, editor
Publication Date: 2010
Volume 2: The Business of Sustainability by Christopher Lazlo, editor
Publication Date: 2010
Volume 3: Law and Politics of Sustainability by J.B. Ruhl, editor
Publication Date: 2011
Volume 4: Natural Resources and Sustainability by Daniel E. Vasey, editor
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 5: Ecosystem Management and Sustainability by Robin Kundis Craig, editor
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 6: Measurements, Indicators, and Research Methods for Sustainability by Ian Spellerberg, editor
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 7: China, India, and East and Southeast Asia: Assessing Sustainability by Sam Geall, editor
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 8: The Americas and Oceania: Assessing Sustainability by Sara G. Beavis, editor
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 9: Afro-Eurasia: Assessing Sustainability by Louis J. Kotze, editor
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 10: The Future of Sustainability by Ray C. Anderson, editor
Publication Date: 2012

Current Events Database

CQ Researcher gives objective overviews of hot topics in the news, including environmental issues. The articles give opinions on all sides of an issue, and are good sources of statistics. A great resource for beginning research. It has been published since 1923, and so issues can be followed down to the present.

CQ Researcher

Find Books

Click a link below to search for all books under that subject in the QuickSearch online catalog.

Find Articles

Click a link below to search a database. To use them from off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

History Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Published since 1964, the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Content Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present; citations and links to books and media reviews; coverage for some titles goes back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in the EBSCOhost database "America: History and Life"). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered; includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Environmental & Science Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Login with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users

All-Subject Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Humanities Librarian

Ted Bergfelt

Email Me

Contact:

402 Gumberg Library
Duquesne University
600 Forbes Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15282

412-396-5351

Subjects: Classics, English/Literature, Philosophy & Religion

U.S. Energy Policy Websites

White House Statement on Energy: "America First"
Energy statement from the White House under Donald Trump.
A Historic Commitment to Protecting the Environment and Addressing the Impacts of Climate Change
Energy policy documents from the White House under President Obama.
Energy Alliance of Greater Pittsburgh
Part policy tracking, part local news. The Energy Alliance is the result of a partnership between the Allegheny Conference on Community Development and Innovation Works.
Energy Policy: Every CRSReport.com
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Energy, Installations, and Environment
The branch of the Department of Defense concerned with energy as pertains to military operations, particularly energy security and efficiency. The page on Operational Energy may be of particular interest.
Energy.gov
The official website for the Department of Energy.
USA.gov: Earth and the Environment
Government information and services related to energy & the environment.

European Union Environmental Policy Websites

Directorate-General for Energy | European Commission
Website for the body in charge of developing and implementing EU energy policy.
EUROPA - Climate change
EU policies by topic, including initiatives and relevant institutions and bodies.
EUROPA - Energy
EU policies by topic, including initiatives and relevant institutions and bodies.
EUROPA - Environment
EU policies by topic, including initiatives and relevant institutions and bodies.