Many of these databases provide free access to selected articles. If an article you need is available for a fee, checkout the Tools for Finding Full Text section of this guide to see if you might be able to get the article for free.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
This video shows how to access PubMed @ Duquesne as well as how to conduct a search, apply filters, and find full text. Note: PubMed @ Duquesne can be accessed by alumni. However, the full text options using LibKey Nomad and Browzine are only available to current students.
AGRICOLA covers agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
PTSDpubs database (formerly PILOTS) provides access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for PTSD and made freely available by ProQuest.