This guide highlights the Curriculum Center's collection of resources that model representation and diversity in the curriculum and encourage reflection and engagement with children and teens.
Resources for Teachers: Supplemental Materials for Creating Lessons
Anti-Bias Education for Young Children and Ourselves by Louise Derman-Sparks and Julie Olsen EdwardsBecome a skilled anti-bias teacher with this eagerly awaited successor to the influential Anti-Bias Curriculum! This volume offers practical guidance on confronting and eliminating barriers of prejudice, misinformation, and bias and provides tips for helping staff and children respect each other, themselves, and all people. Individual chapters focus on culture and language, racial identity, family structures, gender identity, economic class, different abilities, holidays, and more.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .D46 2010 - Stacks
Beyond Heroes and Holidays by Enid Lee, Deborah Menkart, and Margo Okazawa-ReyAn incredible, informative, collection of essays, articles, analysis, interviews, primary documents and interactive & interdisciplinary teaching aids on civil rights, movement building, and what it means for all of the inhabitants of the planet. With sections on Critical Literacy, The Arts, Mathematics, Technology, Science, Geography, Language, School-Wide Activities, Holidays and Heritage, Talking Back, Early Childhood, Readings and Teaching Aids.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .B49 2002X - Stacks
Bridge by Eunice Hyunhye Cho; Francisco Arguelles Paz y Puente; Miriam Ching Yoon Louie; Sasha KhokhaA huge, eminently practical workbook, and organizing tool. A popular education resource of exercise and tools for immigrant and refugee community organizations and other allies of immigrants and refugees. It features 8 workshop modules that include activities, discussion questions, fact sheets, and other resources to help build dialogue, engagement, and shared action within and between communities.
Call Number: JV6225 .C56 2004X - Stacks
Cultivating Genius by Gholdy MuhammadThe four-layered framework-- identity, skill development, intellectualism and criticality-- is essential for all youth in classrooms, especially youth of color, who traditionally have been marginalized in learning standards, policies, and school practices. Readers will learn how to redesign their learning goals, lesson plans, and the texts they use to teach. The framework offers a unique and breakthrough blend of multiple pedagogical approaches including cognitive, sociocultural, and critical and sociohistorical theories.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .M85 2020x - Stacks
End Peer Cruelty, Build Empathy by Michele BorbaBased on a practical, six-part framework for reducing peer cruelty and increasing positive behavior support, End Peer Cruelty, Build Empathy utilizes the strongest pieces of best practices and current research for ways to stop bullying. The book includes guidelines for implementing strategies, collecting data, training staff, mobilizing students and parents, building social-emotional skills, and sustaining progress, and presents the "6Rs" of bullying prevention: Rules, Recognize, Report, Respond, Refuse, and Replace. This is not a program, but a comprehensive process for reducing bullying from the inside out, involving the entire school community. Bullyingprevention and character education expert Michele Borba, who's worked with over 1 million parents and educators worldwide, offers realistic, researchbased strategies and advice. Use the book on its own or to supplement an existing program. Digital content includes customizable forms from the book and a PDF presentation for use in professional development. A free online PLC/Book Study Guide is available at freespirit.com/PLC.
Call Number: LB3013.3 .B67 2018 - Stacks
First Freedoms by Charles C. HaynesA rich and engaging exploration of the documents that illustrate the origins and development of First Amendment freedoms in American history. Each document is introduced by a historical essay and reproduced in facsimile. Incorporating nearly 40 documents and spanning more than 300 years,First Freedoms is essential for students of American history.
Call Number: KF4770 .H39 2006 - Stacks
Frederick Douglass for Kids by Nancy I. SandersFew Americans have had as much impact on the United States as Frederick Douglass, and this guide follows his footsteps, from his birth into slavery to his becoming a friend and confidant of presidents and the leading African American of his day. This American hero became a bestselling author, an outspoken newspaper editor, a brilliant orator, a tireless abolitionist, and a brave civil rights leader. To better appreciate Frederick Douglass and his times, young readers will form a debate club, cook a meal similar to the one Douglass shared with John Brown, make a Civil War haversack, participate in a microlending program, and more. This valuable resource also includes a time line of significant events, a list of historic sites to visit or explore online, and web resources for further study.
Call Number: E449 .D75 S25 2012 - Stacks
The Guide for White Women Who Teach Black Boys by Eddie MooreThe Guide for White Women Who Teach Black Boys requires the reader to work through activities that may challenge them, ask them to honestly reflect on who they are and where they come from. By engaging in personal and professional introspective work, this guide takes the reader through works by experts, stories by educators and students, and videos that will help personalize the educational lives of black boys and their white teachers.
Call Number: LC2731 .G85 2018 - Stacks
Helping Teens Stop Violence, Build Community, and Stand for Justice by Allan Creighton and Paul KivelHelping Teens Stop Violence, Build Community, and Stand for Justice is a guide for adults who work with young people ages ten and up on issues related to youth leadership and social justice. It is also a training manual for adults who want to become effective allies to young people and develop the skills needed so that they can facilitate community building among youth.
Call Number: HV1431 .C74 2011 - Stacks
Is Everyone Really Equal? by Özlem Sensoy and Robin DiAngeloBased on the authors' extensive experience in a range of settings in the United States and Canada, the book addresses the most common stumbling blocks to understanding social justice. This comprehensive resource includes new features such as a chapter on intersectionality and classism; discussion of contemporary activism (Black Lives Matter, Occupy, and Idle No More); material on White Settler societies and colonialism; pedagogical supports related to "common social patterns" and "vocabulary to practice using"; and extensive updates throughout.
Call Number: LC191 .S38 2017 - Stacks
It's Not Complicated! What I Know for Sure about Helping Our Students of Color Become Successful Readers by Phyllis C. HunterThis essential resource showcases renowned educator Phyllis Hunter's pivotal guidance for administrators, teachers, parents, and concerned citizens about how best to serve the literacy needs of students of color. Hunter addresses twelve pivotal understandings and practices that encourage successful reading--from reading comprehension to Response to Intervention to oral language development and family involvement--that every educator who works with a diverse student population should understand. As Ms. Hunter maintains, "Reading is a civil right."
Call Number: LB1573 .H86 2012X - Stacks
Miles to Go for Freedom by Linda Barrett OsborneTold through unforgettable first-person accounts, photographs, and other primary sources, this book is an overview of racial segregation and early civil rights efforts in the United States from the 1890s to 1954, a period known as the Jim Crow years. Multiple perspectives are examined as the book looks at the impact of legal segregation and discrimination on the day-to-day life of black and white Americans across the country. Complete with a bibliography and an index, this book is an important addition to black history books for young readers. Praise for Miles to Go for Freedom *STARRED REVIEW* "A detailed and thought-provoking account of segregation. A valuable and comprehensive perspective on American race relations." - Publishers Weekly, starred review *STARRED REVIEW* "Readers will come away moved, saddened, troubled by this stain on their country's past and filled with abiding respect for those who fought and overcame. Osborne expertly guides readers through this painful, turbulent time of segregation, enabling them to understand fully the victims' struggles and triumphs as they worked courageously to set things right." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review *STARRED REVIEW* "The text is elegant and understated. Drawing on personal interviews, the author provides incidents of everyday racism that young people will be able to grasp and relate to immediately." - School Library Journal, starred review "Tight, consistent focus, pristine organization, and eminently browsable illustrations make this middle-school offering a strong recommendation." - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Osborne's book is a well-written chronicle of the African-American struggle for equal rights in the United States. The reader will be quickly engaged." - Library Media Connection
Call Number: E185.61 .O827 2012 - Stacks
Owning Up by Rosalind P. WisemanCreated in collaboration with children and teens, this guide helps young people identify and be criticalof social issues in their lives-from bullying and harassment in the classroom to systems of power and oppression in the world around them.
Call Number: HQ796 .W535 2017 - Stacks
PeaceJam by Ivan Suvanjieff and Dawn Gifford EngleThe Dalai Lama, the Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Costa Rican president Oscar Arias and political rights activist Aung San Suu Kyi are just some of the Nobel Peace Laureates who have joined the PeaceJam Foundation in their Global Call to Action. This book profiles all of these laureates and their work with teens around the world as they combine forces to help stop the spread of disease, promote women's rights, provide equitable access to food and water, and more.
Call Number: JZ5579 .E64 2008 - Stacks
Roots and Wings by Stacey YorkUse the updated activities, examples, and research to improve your anti-bias and multicultural education programs. This clear and practical guide includes expanded information on English language learners, family engagement, culturally responsive teaching, and staff training.
Call Number: LB1139.35.A37 Y675 2016 - Stacks
Slam School by Bronwen E. LowMainstream rap's seductive blend of sexuality, violence, and bravado hardly seems the stuff of school curricula. And chances are good that the progressive and revolutionary "underground" hip-hop of artists such as The Roots or Mos Def is not on the playlists of most high-school students. That said, hip-hop culture remains a profound influence on contemporary urban youth culture and a growing number of teachers are developing strategies for integrating it into their classrooms.
Call Number: LB1631 .L69 2011 - Stacks
Slavery in America
Call Number: Curriculum Center Kits - SOCIAL STUDIES KT 697C
Take Action! Lesson Plans for the Multicultural Classroom by Lori Langer de RamirezTake Action! Lesson Plans for a Multicultural Classroom is for all teachers striving to meet the needs of students in today's diverse K-12 classrooms. Take Action! offers 27 practical step-by-step multicultural lesson plans organized around seven microcultures: culture and identity, race and ethnicity, abilities and disabilities, religion, socioeconomics and class, language, and gender and sexuality.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .L363 2009 - Stacks
Elevating Equity and Justice by Robert KimElevating Equity and Justice is just what the civic-minded activist in you is looking for-an accessible and engaging guide to connect your teaching to the times we live in, providing insight into ten United States Supreme Court cases that impact schools and teaching. Some of the cases will be familiar to you and some will not. Why these cases? They cover the landscape of both civil rights and civil liberties, exploring topics and situations teachers and administrators face every day. Plus they're interesting-they involve real problems of real people who are raising legal and policy issues thorny and weighty enough to have reached the highest court in the country. To read them is to take a mini course in the history of education in our nation and in the civil rights and civil liberties issues that educators and students encounter on a daily basis. Robert Kim, an education policy expert and former civil rights lawyer, has spent much of the last two decades focused on the rights of students, as well as the legal rights and obligations of schools and educators. In Elevating Equity and Justice, Bob takes a deep dive into ten cases of historical impact, providing background and information on each as well as an explanation of why it is important to know them. He brings the source material to life without overwhelming you with "legalese" and dos and don'ts. For each case, Bob provides a summary of the judicial opinion; some interesting history or perspective about the case, including more recent legal developments; the implications for educators and schools; classroom and community voices that provide insight from real teachers dealing with these topics; tips for how to be proactive; and a short list of resources to further your knowledge about the case or the topics covered in it. Reading these ten cases certainly won't address every situation educators encounter. Chances are you'll be drawn to reflect on what these cases mean for your teaching practice or your school. How can they help you address the needs of a particular student? What civic lessons do they teach? What values do they impart? Elevating Equity and Justice helps educators consider the needs of all of their students and elevates the discussion, teaching, and practice of equity at school.
Call Number: KF4119.85 .K56 2020 - Stacks
Planting the Seeds of Equity by Ruchi Agarwal-Rangnath and Patrick CamangianBringing together an inspirational group of educators, this book provides key insights into what it means to implement social justice ideals with young children. Each chapter highlights a teacher's experience with a specific aspect of social justice and ethnic studies, including related research, projects and lesson plans, and implications for teacher education. The text engages readers in critical dialogue, drawing from works within ethnic studies to think deeply about ideals such as humanization, representation, and transformation. Finding ways to integrate acceptance of difference and social justice content into the primary grades is a complex and challenging endeavor. These teacher stories are ones of courage and commitment, inspiring the possibility of radical change. Book Features: Guidance for teachers who want to teach for social justice, including lesson plans and strategies. Examples of what ethnic studies looks like in early childhood classrooms. Dialogue questions to prompt critical thinking and professional conversation. Windows into classrooms that foster valuing of self and respect for diversity of color, ethnicity, and gender. Activities to tap into personal strengths and enrich teaching, including yoga and song. Connections to relevant research.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .P63 2020 - Stacks
Reading and Teaching with Diverse Nonfiction Children's Books by Thomas Crisp, Suzanne M. Knezek, & Roberta Price GardnerArgues for the importance of including in K-8 classrooms high-quality diverse books that accurately and authentically represent the world students live in and explores the ways in which engaging with diverse nonfiction children's lit provides opportunities to counter constricted curricula and reposition the possibilities of pedagogical policies and mandates through centering the histories, lives, and cultures of historically marginalized and underrepresented people.
Call Number: LB1573 .R2782 2021 - Stacks
How to Raise an Antiracist by Ibram X. KendiThe book that every parent, caregiver, and teacher needs to raise the next generation of antiracist thinkers, from the author of How to Be an Antiracist and recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant. "Kendi's latest . . . combines his personal experience as a parent with his scholarly expertise in showing how racism affects every step of a child's life. . . . Like all his books, this one is accessible to everyone regardless of race or class."--Los Angeles Times (Book Club Pick) ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: PopSugar The tragedies and reckonings around racism that are rocking the country have created a specific crisis for parents, educators, and other caregivers: How do we talk to our children about racism? How do we teach children to be antiracist? How are kids at different ages experiencing race? How are racist structures impacting children? How can we inspire our children to avoid our mistakes, to be better, to make the world better? These are the questions Ibram X. Kendi found himself avoiding as he anticipated the birth of his first child. Like most parents or parents-to-be, he felt the reflex to not talk to his child about racism, which he feared would stain her innocence and steal away her joy. But research and experience changed his mind, and he realized that raising his child to be antiracist would actually protect his child, and preserve her innocence and joy. He realized that teaching students about the reality of racism and the myth of race provides a protective education in our diverse and unequal world. He realized that building antiracist societies safeguards all children from the harms of racism. Following the accessible genre of his internationally bestselling How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi combines a century of scientific research with a vulnerable and compelling personal narrative of his own journey as a parent and as a child in school. The chapters follow the stages of child development from pregnancy to toddler to schoolkid to teenager. It is never too early or late to start raising young people to be antiracist.
Call Number: BF723.R3 K46 2022 - Stacks
The African-American Century by Henry Louis Gates and Cornel WestOne hundred original profiles of the most influential African-Americans of the twentieth century. Without Louis Armstrong or Miles Davis, we would not have jazz. Without Toni Morrison or Ralph Ellison, we would miss some of our greatest novels. Without Dr. King or Thurgood Marshall, we would be deprived of political breakthroughs that affirm and strengthen our democracy. Here, two of the leading African-American scholars of our day, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Cornel West, show us why the twentieth century was the African-American century, as they offer their personal picks of the African-American figures who did the most to shape our world. This colorful collection of personalities includes much-loved figures such as scientist George Washington Carver, contemporary favorites such as comedian Richard Pryor and novelist Alice Walker, and even less-well-known people such as aviator Bessie Coleman. Gates and West also recognize the achievements of controversial figures such as Nation of Islam leader Louis Farrakhan and rap artist Tupac Shakur. Lively, accessible, and illustrated throughout, The African-American Century is a celebration of black achievement and a tribute to the black struggle for freedom in America that will inspire readers for years to come.
Call Number: E185.96 .G38 2002x - Stacks
America's Black Founders by Nancy I. SandersHistory books are replete with heroic stories of Washington, Jefferson, and Adams, but what of Allen, Russwurm, and Hawley? America's Black Founders celebrates the lesser known but significant lives and contributions of our nation's early African American leaders. Many know that the Revolutionary War's first martyr, Crispus Attucks, a dockworker of African descent, was killed at the Boston Massacre. But far fewer know that the final conflict of the war, the Battle of Yorktown, was hastened to a conclusion by James Armistead Lafayette, a slave and spy who reported the battle plans of General Cornwallis to George Washington. Author Nancy Sanders weaves the histories of dozens of men and women--soldiers, sailors, ministers, poets, merchants, doctors, and other community leaders--who have earned proper recognition among the founders of the United States of America. To get a better sense of what these individuals accomplished and the times in which they lived, readers will celebrate Constitution Day, cook colonial foods, publish a newspaper, petition their government, and more. This valuable resource also includes a time line of significant events, a list of historic sites to visit or explore online, and Web resources for further study.
Publication Date: E185.18 .S265 2010 - Stacks
Being the Change by Sara K. AhmedTopics such as race, gender, politics, religion, andsexualityare part of our students' lives, yet when these subjects are brought up at school teachers often struggle with how to respond. How do we create learning conditions where kids can ask the questions they want to ask, muddle through how to say the things they are thinking, and have tough conversations? How can we be proactive and take steps to engaging in the types of conversations where risk is high but the payoff could be even greater? Being the Changeis based on the idea that people can develop skills and habits to serve them in the comprehension of social issues. Sara K. Ahmed identifies and unpacks the skills of social comprehension, providing teachers with tools and activities that help students make sense of themselves and the world as they navigate relevant topics in today's society. Each chapter includes clear, transferrable lessons and practical strategies that help students learn about a targeted social comprehension concept. From exploring identity and diversity to understanding and addressing biases and microaggressions, Sara demonstrates how to address real issues honestly in the classroom while honoring and empowering students. Dealing with social issues is uncomfortable and often messy, but you can build habitats of trust where kids and adults can make their thinking visible and cultivate empathy; where expression, identity, and social literacy matter. There is no magic formula for making the world a better place. It happens in the moments we embrace discomfort and have candid conversations. **** "I am convinced that every class of kids I work with is filled with change agents who will make this world the one we teach toward. I believe that my students will carry the work of doing right by this world into their own lives. I'll bet you believe this about your kids, too." -Sara K. Ahmed
Call Number: BF697 .S65 A45 2018 - Stacks
The Best of the Mailbox - Black History by The Mailbox Books StaffIntroduce students to historic and contemporary Black American achievers with more than 70 skill-based activities, center ideas, writing prompts, and reproducibles. We've carefully selected the very best activities from the pages of The Mailbox and Teacher's Helper magazines.
Call Number: E185 .B58 2008X - Stacks
The Best of the Mailbox Themes - Famous Black Americans by Kimberly FieldsSelect from popular themes to energize your current thematic units. Motivate your students all year long with the Best of The MAILBOX® Theme series.
Publication Date: E185 .F3 2000X - Stacks
Celebrate! by Julie Bisson; Louise Derman-Sparks (Foreword by)Updated information and unbiased, developmentally appropriate strategies and activities to celebrate, rather than exclude, diversity, traditions, and holidays. Many programs are establishing a "no holiday" policy, but this book shows you how to celebrate and adhere to school policy. Among other topics, it includes evaluating holiday activities for appropriateness, addressing commercialism and stereotypes, involving families, and developing inclusive policies. Julie Bisson provides training on subjects ranging from culturally relevant and anti-bias curriculum to holiday curriculum. Louise Derman-Sparks has worked for over fifty years on issues of diversity, social justice, and activism in early childhood.
Call Number: GT4803.A2 B57 2017 - Stacks
Fearless Voices by Alfred W. TatumFeatures instructional strategies that help students use writing as a tool for learning and personal development--showing them how to "write their lives" without compromise.Tatum addresses the power of writing to connect young people with the deeper meaning in their own lives as they put their voices on record, exploring, in particular, writing as a tool to navigate lives in "communities of turmoil" and build positive relationships.
Call Number: LC2779 .T375 2013X - Stacks
How to Teach Students Who Don't Look Like You by Bonnie M. DavisHow to Teach Students Who Don't Look Like You helps educators recognize the impact that culture has on the learning process. The term "diverse learners" encompasses a variety of student groups, including homeless children, migrant children, English language learners, children experiencing gender identity issues, children with learning disabilities, and children with special needs. This revised second edition reflects the latest trends in education, and includes new coverage of standards-based, culturally responsive lesson planning and instruction, differentiated instruction, and RTI.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .D396 2012 - Stacks
A Kid's Guide to African American History by Nancy I. SandersWhat do all these people have in common: the first man to die in the American Revolution, a onetime chief of the Crow Nation, the inventors of peanut butter and the portable X-ray machine, and the first person to make a wooden clock iin this country? They were all great African Americans. For parents and teachers interested in fostering cultural awareness among children of all races, this book includes more than 70 hands-on activities, songs, and games that teach kids about the people, experiences, and events that shaped African American history.
Call Number: E185 .S19 2007 - Stacks
Let's Clap, Jump, Sing & Shout; Dance, Spin & Turn It Out! by Patricia C. McKissack and Brian PinkneyHere is a songbook, a storybook, a poetry collection, and much more, all rolled into one. Find a partner for hand claps such as "Eenie, Meenie, Sassafreeny," or form a circle for games like "Little Sally Walker." Gather as a family to sing well-loved songs like "Amazing Grace" and "Oh, Freedom," or to read aloud the poetry of such African American luminaries as Langston Hughes, James Weldon Johnson, and Paul Laurence Dunbar.
Call Number: E185.86 .M424 2017 - Stacks
On My Journey Now by Nikki GiovanniWith the passion of a poet and the knowledge of a historian, Nikki Giovanni tells the story of Africans in America through the glorious words of spirituals. Ever since she was a little girl attending three different churches, poet Nikki Giovanni has loved the spirituals. In ON MY JOURNEY NOW, she paints compelling portraits of the lives of her ancestors through familiar songs such as "Go Down, Moses" and personal favorites such as "Ain't Got Time to Die," celebrating a people who overcame enslavement and found a way to survive, to worship, and to build. ON MY JOURNEY NOW includes a foreword by Dr. Arthur Jones, founder and artistic program director of the Spirituals Project. Back matter includes a glossary, a bibliography, source notes, recommended recordings, an index of song titles, and an index.
Call Number: PS3557 .I55 O6 2007 - Stacks
Readers Theatre for African American History by Jeff Sanders and Nancy I. SandersReaders Theatre for African American History features a collection of twenty scripts covering a comprehensive span of history from Africa before the transatlantic slave trade through current events in our nation. In participating in these scripts, students will listen to storytellers from Africa and share the rich oral tradition about wealthy explorers who came to the Americas from Africa before Columbus. They'll experience such events as Emancipation Day on the South Carolina Sea Islands, the founding of the North Star by Frederick Douglass, and the extraordinary 1939 Lincoln Memorial concert by Marian Anderson.
Call Number: E184.7 .S26 2008 - Stacks
Restorative Justice in the English Language Arts Classroom by Maisha Winn; Hannah Graham; Rita Alfred
Call Number: LB1576 .W4897 2019 - Stacks
Social Issues Book Clubs by Audra Kirshbaum RobbThe topic of social issues, the lens for reading in this unit, is a topic that matters greatly to the young human beings who enter our classrooms every day. In middle school, many kinds of issues start to weigh more heavily on students: relationship issues, school issues, and a growing awareness of larger societal pressures. There can be serious consequences to the spiraling troubles that surround middle school kids. A recent Washington Post article titled "Does Reading Make You a Better Person?" concludes that the answer to the title question is "Yes!" Reading literature especially has proven to increase people's ability to empathise with others, and to be more socially aware. A driving force in this unit is the power of reading to transform how we see others and to show us new ways to be kind, to connect, and to stand up for what's right. We want our middle grades students to become flexible, resilient readers, we want them to have a toolkit of strategies for dealing with difficulty, and we want them to read broadly and deeply, alert to the intricacies of texts and to the power of language. To accomplish such ambitious goals, we need classroom structures and resources that support this kind of explicit teaching and learning. The reading workshop offers a simple and predictable framework for teaching strategies and for giving students feedback while they are in the midst of the ever-changing, complex reading work they will do across the middle school grades. The Units of Study for Teaching Reading series saves teachers hundreds of hours of planning, freeing time for analysing student work, working with individuals and small groups, and for studying with colleagues. The series provides teachers with the tools and support they need to move students quickly and efficiently toward grade-level expectations, while also helping kids become proficient, lifelong readers.
Call Number: LB1573 .R62 2018x - Stacks
Social Justice Literacies in the English Classroom: Teaching Practice in Action by Ashley S. BoydThis timely book focuses on different social justice pedagogies and how they can work within standards and district mandates in a variety of English language arts classrooms. With detailed analysis and authentic classroom vignettes, the author explores how teachers cultivate relationships for equity, utilize transformative language practices, demonstrate critical caring, and develop students' critical literacies with traditional and critical content. Boyd offers a comprehensive model for taking social action with youth that also considers the obstacles teachers are likely to encounter. Presenting the case for more equity-oriented teaching, this rich resource examines the benefits of engaging students with critical pedagogies and provides concrete methods for doing so. Written for both pre- and inservice teachers, the text includes adaptable teaching models and tested ideas for preparing to teach for social justice. Book Features: Conceptualizes social justice as a set of "literacies" that can be learned and cultivated. Depicts social action projects being used to meet Common Core State Standards. Illustrates how social justice happens in small moments, both those that are planned and those that arise spontaneously. Shows teachers from rural and urban contexts adapting social justice to their teaching style and environment.
Call Number: LC196 .B69 2017 - Stacks
Teaching the Levees by Margaret Smith CroccoThis new curriculum addresses the issues of citizenship, race, class, and poverty that were raised in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. In September 2007, through a generous collaboration between The Rockefeller Foundation, Teachers College, and HBO, this dynamic teaching tool was distributed to schools, colleges, and community educators as part of a box set that included a copy of Spike Lee and HBO's epic documentary, "When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts." Due to continued demand, you can now purchase the curriculum book, "Teaching The Levees," without the DVD. Developed by faculty at Teachers College, Columbia University, "Teaching The Levees" includes chapters for teaching history, media literacy, civics, economics, and geography. The guide includes a detailed timeline of the unfolding of Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath, as well as a map of the New Orleans levee system. Each lesson includes thought-provoking discussion questions connected to the stories in the documentary (must be purchased separately) that will help students to explore "why" and "how" this tragedy happened, and to examine their own reactions to the devastating chain of events.
Call Number: Curriculum Center Kits - KT-117
Tell All the Children Our Story by Tonya BoldenTonya Bolden explores what it has meant to be young and black in America from the 17th century to the present. From the settlement of Jamestown (where the birth of the first black child is recorded) to the Revolution to the Civil War and the Restoration to the fight for civil rights to today, Bolden brings to light how black children worked and played, suffered and rejoiced.
Call Number: E185.86 .B633 2001 - Stacks
The Underground Railroad for Kids by Mary Kay CarsonThe heroic struggles of the thousands of slaves who sought freedom through the Underground Railroad are vividly portrayed in this powerful activity book, as are the abolitionists, free blacks, and former slaves who helped them along the way. The text includes 80 compelling firsthand narratives from escaped slaves and abolitionists and 30 biographies of "passengers," "conductors," and "stationmasters," such as Harriet Tubman, William Still, and Levi and Catherine Coffin. Interactive activities that teach readers how to navigate by the North Star, write and decode a secret message, and build a simple lantern bring the period to life. A time line, reading list, glossary, and listing of web sites for further exploration complete this activity book. The Underground Railroad for Kids is an inspiring story of brave people compelled to act in the face of injustice, risking their livelihoods, their families, and their lives in the name of freedom.
Call Number: E450 .C45 2005 - Stacks
We Got This! Equity, Access, and the Quest to Be Who Our Students Need Us to Be by Cornelius Minor"That's the problem with you, Minor" a student huffed. "You want to make everything about reading or math. It's not always about that. At school, you guys do everything except listen to me. Y'all want to use your essays and vocabulary words to save my future, but none of y'all know anything about saving my now." In We Got ThisCornelius Minor describes how this conversation moved him toward realizing that listeningto children is one of the most powerful things a teacher can do. By listening carefully, Cornelius discovered something that kids find themselves having to communicate far too often. That "my lessons were not, at all, linked to that student's reality." While challenging the teacher as hero trope, We Got This shows how authentically listening to kids is the closest thing to a superpower that we have. What we hear can spark action that allows us to make powerful moves toward equity by broadening access to learning for all children. A lone teacher can't eliminate inequity, but Cornelius demonstrates that a lone teacher can confront the scholastic manifestations of racism, sexism, ableism and classism by showing: exactly how he plans and revises lessons to ensure access and equity ways to look anew at explicit and tacit rules that consistently affect groups of students unequally suggestions for leaning into classroom community when it feels like the kids are against you ideas for using universal design that make curriculum relevant and accessible advocacy strategies for making classroom and schoolwide changes that expand access to opportunity to your students "We cannot guarantee outcomes, but we can guarantee access" Cornelius writes. "We can ensure that everyone gets a shot. In this book we get to do that. Together. Consider this book a manual for how to begin that brilliantly messy work. We got this."
Call Number: LB1025.3 .M576 2019 - Stacks
We Shall Overcome with CDs by Herb BoydIn words, photos and on two audio CDs, witness the courageous and controversial stories that defined America's civil rights movement An entire generation of Americans faced the lynching of teenager Emmett Till, the murder of four girls at church, and the denial of basic liberties like voting rights, equal education and political representation. This is their story. We Shall Overcome is a gripping chronicle of the words and voices of the civil rights movement. From stirring speeches to the voices of hate, this collection brings to life the battle for justice and equality that shook America to its core. We Shall Overcome brings you there--from the schools to the sit-ins, from Little Rock to Selma, from the pulpit to the marches. American Book Award winning author Herb Boyd tells the dramatic stories of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Fannie Lou Hamer, Stokely Carmichael, Ella Baker and activist groups like the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference and the Black Panthers. In words, photos and on two accompanying audio CDs, you'll witness the courageous and controversial stories that defined America's civil rights movement. "With powerfully superb reporting Herb Boyd slams us back into the most grueling hours of Black America's bloody struggle for Civil Rights."--Gordon Parks, award-winning photographer, writer and filmmaker "An indispensable window on history. Herb Boyd's dramatic evocation of the legendary civil rights struggle of the 1960s is at once dramatic history and engaging literature."--Paul Robeson, Jr. "We Shall Overcome captures definitively the drama of the mighty social and spiritual movement that transformed America almost fifty years ago. Vivid, compelling, moving, inspiring, it brings alive the years of struggle and success, strife and hope, that led to the final triumph of justice for black Americans against Jim Crow. This is a gift to be cherished, an enduring reminder of the heroism of those women, men, and children who sacrificed even their lives that all of us might be free."--Arnold Rampersad, author of The Life of Langston Hughes, Days of Grace (with Arthur Ashe), and Jackie Robinson, Cognizant Dean for Humanities and Kimball Professor in the Humanities at Stanford University "From the murder of Emmett Till to the assassination of Martin Luther King, Herb Boyd takes us on a intellectual and spiritual journey of what it has meant to be an African American resisting in America."--Sonia Sanchez, poet and author of the collections Shake Loose My Skin and Like Singing Coming Off Drums among others
Call Number: E185.61 .B774 2004 - Stacks
Texting with Black History by Bobby BasilWhat if you could text with important figures from Black History? Alex, a curious child, gets to do just that! In this 3 book collection, Alex texts with Martin Luther King, Jr., Sojourner Truth, and Aretha Franklin. Through each texting conversation, Alex learns about strong people who stand up for what they believe and fight for what is right. It's a biography book collection for kids that uses modern day texting bubbles children understand and enjoy! ***Black History Month biographies perfect for Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd graders ages 6-8!*** This paperback 3 book collection includes: The biography of Martin Luther King, Jr. The biography of Sojourner Truth The biography of Aretha Franklin A discussion of slavery and the civil rights movement in a way children can understand Lessons in how to make a positive difference in the world Encouraging words about being true to yourself no matter what people tell you Fun workbook activities to help young readers interact with what they learned Coloring pages of inspirational quotes from Dr. King, Sojourner Truth, and Aretha Franklin 3 free books (just go to the website inside the book!) Buy the book and teach your child about important historical figures today!
Call Number: PZ7.1 .B3778 Te 2019x - Stacks
Equity in the ClassroomEquity is a term we hear a lot these days, but what does it really mean? How can teachers ensure that every student gets what he or she needs to learn and succeed? Education leaders from around the country share their thoughts through essays that explore topics such as: how to achieve equity for all students; creating equity awareness in teachers; working with families and communities to close the opportunity gap; setting high expectations to raise academic achievement; and more.
Call Number: LB213.2 .E67 2022x - Stacks
Beyond Diversity by Rohit Bhargava & Jennifer BrownWall Street Journal Bestseller "A useful, forcefully written, and wide-ranging study of inequities--and how to fix them." --Kirkus Reviews What if we could go beyond the conversation about diversity and take real action? In early 2021, more than two hundred widely respected experts gathered virtually for the world's most ambitious conversation about diversity. Our aim was to do more than spotlight injustice. We challenged ourselves to imagine how to fix it. The dialogue brought together casting directors, bookstore owners, disabled leaders, healthcare professionals, students, VCs, standup comedians, chief diversity officers, pro gamers, archaeologists, government insiders, startup founders, and even a master puppeteer. Now for the first time, these solutions are compiled into one groundbreaking volume organized into twelve powerful themes including: storytelling, technology, identity, retail, education and more. Each chapter paints a revealing picture of the world, how it is, how it could be and what needs to happen for us to get there. For newcomers to the topic of diversity, and DEI experts alike, this book offers a much-needed actionable blueprint for creating a more inclusive world for us all.