Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

William Blake: Home


Portrait of William Blake by Thomas Phillips (1807). Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Literary Criticism: Online Reference Collections

Literary eReference Collections

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic. Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

Oxford Handbook Online

Oxford Handbook Online


While considered by some to be one of the Romantic poets, William Blake (1757-1827), is hard to categorize. Working in many fields, printing, etching, engraving, painting in watercolor and tempra, and creating some of the most memorable and anthologized short poems, Blake also claimed to experience mystic visions which find their expression in mixed media works combining poetic prophecy of epic proportions and strange imagery from his own personal mythology.

This webpage is designed to assist the researcher, whether undergraduate, graduate student, or faculty member in finding information available through the Gumberg Library on the life, work, and influence of this major English author. Use the tabs that run across the top of the screen to access the different types of information sources.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, click on the Ask a Librarian link on the blue bar at the top of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.

Other Electronic Reference Sources

eReference Works

Click on the title of a work below to use it.

To use any of these electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.

Print Reference Works

Print Reference Works