LibGuides: Poverty: Poverty Resources

Poverty Resources at Gumberg

America's Poor and the Great Recession by Kristin Seefeldt; John D. Graham; Tavis Smiley (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Millions have entered poverty as a result of the Great Recession's terrible toll of long-term unemployment. The authors examine recent trends in poverty and assess the performance of America’s "safety net" programs. They consider likely scenarios for future developments and conclude that the well-being of low-income Americans is at substantial risk despite economic recovery.
Child Poverty and Inequality: securing a better future for America's children by Duncan Lindsey (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
One of the United States great promises is that all children will be given the opportunity to work to achieve a comfortable standard of living. That promise has faded profoundly for children who grow up in poverty, particularly black and Hispanic children, and many of the deepening fault lines in the social order are traceable to this disparity. In recent years the promise has also begun to fade for children of the middle class.
Climate Change and Global Poverty by Lael Brainard (Editor); Abigail Jones (Editor); Nigel Purvis (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Climate change threatens all people, but its adverse effects will be felt most acutely by the world's poor. Absent urgent action, new threats to food security, public health, and other societal needs may reverse hard-fought human development gains.
Disability and Poverty: a global challenge by Arne H. Eide; Benedicte Ingstad
Call Number: eBook
This book is about being disabled and being poor and the social, cultural and political processes that link these two aspects of living. Environmental barriers, limited access to services and discriminatory attitudes and practice are among key elements that drive disabled people into poverty and keep them there.
The Human Cost of Welfare by Phil Harvey; Lisa Conyers
Call Number: eBook
Why is the welfare system failing to work for so many people? This book examines the problems with the current welfare system and proposes reforms to create a smarter, smaller system that helps people improve their lives through rewarding work.
The Oxford Handbook of the Economics of Poverty by Philip N. Jefferson (Editor)
Call Number: HC79 .P6 O97 2012
Have countries made progress in mitigating poverty? How do we determine who is poor and who is not poor? What intuitions or theories guide the design of anti-poverty policy? These are some of the questions that a distinguished group of scholars have come together to confront in this handbook.
Poor Economics: a radical rethinking of the way to fight global poverty by Abhijit Banerjee; Esther Duflo
Why do the poor borrow to save? Why do they miss out on free life-saving immunizations, but pay for unnecessary drugs?
Poverty: A New Perspective by George L. Wilber (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
In this collection of essays poverty is viewed not merely as an economic predicament but as a "system with measurable properties," of which a low income level is only one. Affecting individuals or entire regions, many of the attributes of poverty can be seen either as causes or as effects of low income. In order for governmental and institutional attempts to have any chance of success, the system of poverty must be much better understood.
Q-Squared: Combining Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches in Poverty Analysis by Paul Shaffer
Call Number: eBook
This book examines the underlying assumptions and implications of how we conceptualise and investigate poverty. The empirical entry point for such inquiry is a series of research initiatives that have used mixed method, combined qualitative and quantitative, or Q-Squared ( Q2) approaches, to poverty analysis.
Turning High-Poverty Schools into High-Performing Schools by William H. Parrett; Kathleen M. Budge
Call Number: LC4091 .P36 2012
Is it possible for high-poverty schools to be high achieving? Of course it is! Real schools with students living in poverty do post high levels of student achievement. Learn how they do it.
The Undeserving Poor by Michael B. Katz
Call Number: eBook
Katz highlights how throughout American history, the poor have been regarded as undeserving: people who do not deserve sympathy because they brought their poverty on themselves, either through laziness and immorality, or because they are culturally or mentally deficient. This long-dominant view sees poverty as a personal failure, serving to justify America's mean-spirited treatment of the poor. Katz reminds us, however, that there are other explanations of poverty besides personal failure.
Women and Health by World Health Organization
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-03-03
This is a report on women and health - both women's health needs and their contribution to the health of societies. Women's health has long been a concern for WHO, but today it has become an urgent priority. This report explains why.

Poverty Resources on the Web

The Institute for Research on Poverty works on understanding the causes and outcomes of poverty. Find news, events, and resources on their site.

Innovations for Poverty Actions produces a useful annual report.

The National Center for Children in Poverty publishes reports and tools, such as calculators and simulators, to influence policies and help children and their families.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services publishes poverty guidelines for different sized households. The Department also provides helpful graphs on poverty.

ELDIS compiles the best poverty research openly and freely available.

Urban Institute has interesting research publications on escaping poverty, welfare rules, and children of immigrants, to name a few.

The Brookings Institution researches hot topics in society and the government for problem-solving, with recent reports on poverty titled, "The Geography of Desperation in America," "Poverty Crosses Party Lines," and "Creating Opportunity for the Forgotten Americans."

Two of the many resources that are available from the U.S. Census: American Factfinder contains census data (and data estimates for the in-between years) on income and poverty, viewable by country, state, county, and even census tracts - small neighborhoods. Poverty Visualizations by the Census Bureau show different data collected by the Census surrounding poverty, shown in neat infographic form.

Measure of America focuses on the facts surrounding the unequal distribution of resources and opportunity in America.

United Nations focuses on the causes of poverty and how to address it., the United Nations issued a framework for the immediate socio-economic response to COVID-19 and created the Secretary-General's UN COVID-19 Response and Recovery Fund.

Congressional Digest provides a monthly analysis of the pros and cons of public policy issues in the United States.

Govtrack allows you to browse bills in the U.S. Congress related to the subject Poverty and welfare assistance, as determined by the Library of Congress.

Need articles?

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find basic articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines from a wide range of fields.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Sociology articles on poverty. Less quantitative, more qualitative.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Search "Poverty" in the box and find in-depth research reports on homelessness, child poverty, hunger in America, and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A good resource for starter journal, magazine, and newspaper articles from a wide range of fields.

Browse our complete list of databases here

Use these subjects in any of our databases or in DUQSearch to find books, articles, and more!

Poverty
Poverty AND Transportation
Poverty AND Hunger
World Hunger
Poverty AND Clean Water
Poverty AND Disease
Rural Poverty
Urban Poverty
Poverty AND Inequality
Income AND Poverty
Poverty AND Homelessness
Socioeconomic Status
Poverty AND Race
Poverty AND Policing
Poverty AND Environment

RSS News Feeds