Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Pittsburgh Writers: Welcome!

This is one literary town!

 

Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide designed to introduce you to writers from Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania. Some of these writers were born here and moved away. Some were born elsewhere and moved here. Some lived their whole lives here, while some stayed only for a period of time. Writers who are primarily poets are not included on this guide. Visit the Pittsburgh Poets research guide to make their acquaintance. (On this guide, if you do not find a writer you are looking for who is not primarily a poet, try Littsburgh. You may find them there.) There are also tabs above that will take you to information about the vibrant Pittsburgh literary scene, citation in MLA 7th Edition format, and how to get materials not available at the Gumberg Library. To learn more about many of the authors on this webpage, visit the Literature Resources research guide. Enjoy!

The image above is a detail from a photograph entitled "Confluence of the Allegheny and Monongehela Rivers" by Henry C. Schmitt. CC BY-SA 2.5 Source: Wikimedia Commons

Hugh Henry Brackenridge

Biography from American Writers of the Early Republic

Biography from American Humorists, 1800-1950

All books by Brackenridge in the Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Nellie Bly (Elizabeth Cochrane)

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

Biography from American Newspaper Journalists, 1901-1925

All books about Bly in the Gumberg Library

MLA International Bibliography

Willa Cather

Biography from American Novelists, 1910-1945

Biography from American Short Story Writers, 1880-1910

All books by Cather in Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

George S. Kaufman

Biography from Twentieth Centuury American Dramatists

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

All books by Kaufman in the Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Malcolm Cowley

Biography from American Writers in Paris, 1920-1939

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

All books by Cowley in the Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Kenneth Burke

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

Biography from Modern American Critics, 1920-1955

All books by Burke in the Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Gladys Schmitt

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

Biography from the Carnegie Mellon University Tartan

All books by Schmitt in the Gumberg Library

All books about

Picture Credits

Brackenridge: Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Bly: Public domain, Source: Wikimedia Commons

Cather: Photo by Carl Van Vechten, Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Rinehart: Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Bell: http://explorepahistory.com/displayimage.php?imgId=1-2-2021&storyId=1-9-24

Kaufman: Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Cowley: Photo by Carl Van Vechten, Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Kenneth Burke: http://www.natcom.org/VBCrable/

Schmitt: https://www.flickr.com/photos/patrickgage/1477608617/

Jane Grey Swisshelm

Gertrude Stein

Biography, from American Writers in Paris, 1920-1939

Another Biography, from Gay & Lesbian Biography

All books by Stein at the Gumberg

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Hervey Allen

Biography from American Poets, 1880-1945, First Series

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

All books by Allen at the Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Henry Steele Commager

Biography from Twentieth-Century American Dramatists

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

All books by Commager in the Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Marc Connelly

Biography from Twentieth-Century American Dramatists

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

All books by in the Gumberg Library

All books about

MLA International Bibliography

Marcia Davenport

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

Biography from American National Biography Online

All books by Davenport in the Gumberg Library

MLA International Bibliography

James Laughlin

John Dickson Carr

Biography from American Mystern & Detective Writers

Biography from the St. James Guide to Crime & Mystery Writers

All books by Carr in the Gumberg Library

MLA International Bibliography

Margaret Hodges

Picture Credits

Swisshelm: Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Stein: Photo by Alvin Langdon Coburn, Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Allen: http://www.arlingtoncemetery.net/whallenjr.htm

Commager: http://www.nndb.com/people/662/000117311/

Connelly: Photo by Carl Van Vechten, Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Davenport: http://www.babelio.com/auteur/Marcia-Davenport/146481

Laughlin: Photo by Alexjohns, CC-ASA-3.0-U, Wikimedia Commons

Carr: http://moonlight-detective.blogspot.com/2012/07/sealed-rooms-and-ghoulish-laughter.html

Hodges: http://www.childrensliteraturenetwork.org/magazine/in-memoriam/2005/margaret-hodges-1911-2005/