Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Pittsburgh Poets: Welcome!

Celebrating work by Bards from the 'Burgh

 

There are lots of poets with a Pittsburgh-area connection. Some were born here and left. Some were born elsewhere but came here to live and write. Some became world famous. Others are more locally known. The Gumberg Library has created this research guide to celebrate them all and to introduce you to these poets and their work. Scroll down to meet them. If you do not find a poet you are looking for on this research guide, try Littsburgh. You may find them there.

Along with the information on individual poets, you will find a tab above that will take you to the library's extensive collection of resources on the general subject of poetry, as well as a tab that will give you information about the vibrant Pittsburgh poetry scene. We round out the guide with information on citation in MLA 7th edition format, and on how to get books and articles that are not available in the Gumberg Library. Enjoy!

The image above is a detail from a photo entitled "Pittsburgh Skyline at Sundown" by jakeliefer. CC BY-SA 2.0 Source: Wikimedia Commons

Robinson Jeffers

Biography, from American Poets, 1880-1945, 1st Series

Biography, from American Nature Poets

All books by Jeffers at the Gumberg Library

All Books about Jeffers

MLA International Bibliography

James Laughlin

Gerald Stern

Dennis Brutus

Biography, from Contemporary Authors

Biography, from Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers, 1st Series

All books by Brutus at the Gumberg Library

 MLA International Bibliography

Jim Daniels

Biography, from Contemporary Authors

Another Biography, from American Poets Since World War II, 3rd Series

All books by Daniels in the Gumberg Library

MLA International Bibliography

Website

Pat Dobler

Biography, from Carlow University

Obituary from the Pittsburgh Post Gazette

All books by Patricia Dobler at the Gumberg Library

Judith Vollmer

Biography, from the Pennsylvania Center for the Book

Biography from the University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg

Website

Michael Begnal

Richard St. John

Suggestions

Do you know of a Pittsburgh poet that we have missed but who should be added to this site? If so, click the link below to send me an email with your suggestion. Thanks in advance.

bergfeltt@duq.edu

Criteria for inclusion: A poet must have been born in Pittsburgh, currently live in Pittsburgh, or have lived in Pittsburgh for an appreciable portion of their lives, and must have had one book of poetry published (not a chapbook). The book cannot have been self-published.

Photo Credits

Robinson Jeffers: Photo by Carl Van Vechten, 1937. Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

James Laughlin: 1963, CC-ASA-3.0-U, Wikimedia Commons

Gerald Stern: Photo by Rodrigo Fernandez, CC-ASA-3.0-U, Wikimedia Commons

Dennis Brutus: 1967, South African National Archive, CC-ASA-3.0-U, Wikimedia Commons

Jack Gilbert: http://www.kenyonreview.org/2012/04/infinite-books-the-collected-poems-of-jack-gilbert/

Toi Derricotte: http://www.toiderricotte.com/

Lyn Emanuel: http://www.writing.pitt.edu/people/faculty/lynn-emanuel

Terrance Hayes: http://www.agnesscott.edu/writersfestival/guest-writers.html

Jim Daniels: http://www.lansingcitypulse.com/lansing/article-6883-write-to-work.html

Patricia Dobler: http://www.carlow.edu/About_Patricia_Dobler.aspx

Judith Vollmer: http://www.judithvollmer.com/

Michael S. Begnal: http://www.duq.edu/academics/faculty/mike-begnal

Billy Nardozzi: http://blog.polishpierogi.com/2010/09/pierogies-by-billy-nardozzi.html

Richard St. John: http://clarioncallnews.com/poets-respond-cultural-series-religious-theme/

Haniel Long: http://www.quazoo.com/q/Haniel_Long

Gertrude Stein

Biography, from American Writers in Paris, 1920-1939

Biography, from Gay & Lesbian Biography

All books by Stein at the Gumberg Library

All books about Stein

MLA International Bibliography

Hervey Allen

Biography, from American Poets, 1880-1945, First Series

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

All books by Allen at the Gumberg Library

MLA International Bibliography

W.D. Snodgrass

Samuel Hazo

Robert Gibb

Peter Oresick

Gerald Costanzo

Biography, from the Pennsylvania Center for the Book

Biography from Carnegie Mellon University

Ray DiPalma

Biography from Contemporary Authors Online

Biography from the Poetry Foundation

Works by DiPalma from Academic Search Elite

Haniel Long

Biography, from American Poets 1880-1945: First Series

Biography, from Contemporary Authors Online

All books by Long in the Gumberg Library

MLA International Bibliography

This research guide was created and is maintained by:

Ted Bergfelt, MLS

Humanities Librarian

402 Gumberg Library

412.396.5351

bergfeltt@duq.edu

Photo Credits

Gertrude Stein: Photo by Alvin Langdon Coburn. Public domain, Wikimedia Commons

Hervey Allen: http://www.arlingtoncemetery.net/whallenjr.htm

Annie Dillard: http://www.quotesworthrepeating.com/quote-by/a-quote-by/annie-dillard/375-quotation-by-annie-dillard/

W. D. Snodgrass: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:William_De_Witt_Snodgrass.jpg, Wikimedia Commons

Samuel Hazo: http://ndbooks.com/authors/gallery/search&channel=authors&keywords=American+novelist&inclusive_keywords=yes

Ed Roberson: Photo by Rachel Eliza Griffiths, http://www.edroberson.net/bio.html

Jan Beatty: http://blog.bestamericanpoetry.com/the_best_american_poetry/2009/02/ed-ochester-presents-a-poem-by-jan-beatty.html

Ed Ochester: http://grierhorner.com/blog_jan08.html

Robert Gibb: http://www.uapress.com/titles/fa12/gibb.html

Peter Oresick: https://www.chatham.edu/ccps/mfa/facultydetails.cfm?FacultyID=48

Gerald Costanzo: http://www.asu.edu/piper/conference/2006/faculty/index.htm

Ray DiPalma: http://jacketmagazine.com/40/dipalma-obliquium-10.shtml

Joseph Bathanti: http://video.unctv.org/video/2277552283/