Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Mariology: A Research Guide: Home

Detail from "Mary and Child Among the Saints and Angels," Saint Catherine's Monastery, Sinai, 6th Century. Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons


Lumen Gentium

See Chapter 8 of Lumen Gentium, entitled "The Blessed Virgin Mary, the Mother of God, in the Mystery of Christ and of the Church"


Click the button above to visit the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) website, home of the Catholic Portal, a catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly materials in the library collections of the over 40 member institutions of the CRRA. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full-text!

CRRA has a growing collection of subject guides to assist users of their website in doing research. Click the link below to see these subject guides.

CRRA Subject Guides

According to the New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd edition, "Since the 17th century, Mariology has designated the part of dogmatic theology that concerns the Blessed Virgin Mary in her relation to God and to her fellow creatures under God."

This page is designed to get researchers quickly to background information, books, and journal articles accessible through the Gumberg Library on Mariological topics.

For some basic information on Mary and Mariology, click on the links below. To read the first two documents off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Multipass username and password.


"Mariology" (New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd edition)

"Mary, Blessed Virgin, II (In Theology)" (New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd edition)

"Mary, Mother of Jesus Christ" (New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia)

Reference Works

Gain more background information on Mary and Mariological topics using these reference works.


Related Databases

These databases may be accessed from off campus. To do that, when you click on the link for a database, you will be asked for your Multipass username and password. Enter that information and you will then be able to search the databases as if you were inthe library.


Find Articles

These databases may be accessed from off campus. To do that, when you click on the link for a database, you will be asked for your Multipass username and password. Enter that information and you will then be able to search the databases as if you were in the library.

Theologians Who Wrote on Mary

In the case of each of these theologians who wrote on Mariology, the first link for the person, identified by the word "Author," will take you to all books written by that person in the online catalog. The second link, identified by the word "Subject," will take you to all books in the online catalog about that person and their works.