Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Faculty Teaching Online: Gumberg Library

This guide contains resources for faculty converting their instruction from in-person to online.

Library Support

Gumberg is here to support you as you move your classes online. If you have a question about how to incorporate Gumberg's resources into your online classes, contact your library liaison or contact us via https://ask.library.duq.edu.

Instructional Support

Instructional Support

Online Instruction Sessions

Library instruction sessions can be held via Zoom. To request a session from your librarian, please fill out this form.

Reserve Materials

Gumberg supports additional online reserves services, including scanning and emailing print reserves and required reading materials. Place a request through ask@duq.libanswers.com.

Linking to Electronic Resources

You can create direct links to the library’s electronic journal articles, books, and videos in Blackboard or webpages. For more information, see Persistent Links.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely available, reusable documents, assessments, courses, media, textbooks, and more. Many of these resources are online and can be found by consulting with your liaison librarian

Copyright

Online teaching brings up many issues with copyright. These two resources will help guide you as you check if your materials are safe to use or not. 

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan staff can fill requests for electronic information (journal articles, book chapters, etc.). We will continue print Interlibrary Loan and EZ Borrow with the caveat that it may take longer to get materials because some other institutions are taking ILL and EZB offline.

Research Support

Research Support

You have access to all online content through our Research page. Please consult with a librarian for assistance. 

Research Websites

Gumberg provides research websites specifically tailored by subject and topic which can be used to support student and faculty research.

QuickSearch

Use QuickSearch to search for materials including ebooks, electronic journal articles, streaming videos, books, musical scores, CDs, DVDs and more.

Journals

Gumberg provides access to over 89,000 eJournals via our databases. You can also locate eJournals by title. If you're not certain which database to search for the journal articles you need, we have a site that can help

eBooks

You have access to over 525,000 eBooks in our eBook collections. To search for a specific title, you can either search a specific collection, or narrow your search in QuickSearch to eBooks only. 

Troubleshooting

Use the How to Access Gumberg Library Resources Off-Campus tutorial for help connecting with Gumberg Library’s research databases.  

Free Resources

Some vendors have provided free online content during this period. These resources are listed in this regularly updated list and guide

Access to Infobase's Academic Virtual Classroom is free during this time. username: distancelearning2, password: trial. 

Ebsco has opened up free access to a growing list of publishers until June 30th. They can be found on this list

Selected Resources

Selected Resources

Streaming Media

Gumberg provides access to 70,000 streaming videos through several different streaming video sites. This site will give you an overview of them, the kind of videos each has, and how you access them. 

Citation Resources

We provide a variety of citation guides, as well as access to Academic Writer, a tool for APA style. Endnote is also provided by the university and supported by Gumberg. 

Pedagogy Resources

Pedagogy Resources

The Chronicle of Higher Education

Gumberg provides full access to the Chronicle, a highly regarded resource on teaching and other higher ed related topics. 

Online Pedagogy Help

This site provides quick information on how to maximize learning in an online teaching situation. 

Other Duquesne Resources

Other Duquesne Resources

These centers can help you further develop your online course.  

COVID-19 Faculty Senate Discussion Board - login via Blackboard. If you have any questions please contact a Gumberg librarian. 

Online Learning and Strategy

Educational Technology 

Center for Teaching Excellence

Duquesne Online Writing Center for Distance Students