Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oriental Orthodoxy: Home

Guide to researching Oriental Orthodox Churches (Coptic, Syriac, Armenian, Ethiopian, Eritrean, Malankara)

Crosses of the Oriental Orthodox Churches

The Oriental Orthodox communion consists of Churches which did not accept the Christological Definition of the Council of Chalcedon (451 AD).

This guide provides information to researching the Churches of the Oriental Orthodox Communion.

Click the tabs at the top of the screen to select the Church you are interested in researching.

Clergy of the Armenian, Coptic, and Syriac Orthodox Churches

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Email, text, telephone or meet with a Reference Librarian.

Guide Author

This guide originally created by Michael Janakis, MLIS July 2017