Detail from a photo of Diocletian's camp at Palmyra, Syria. Photo by Bernard Gagnon. CC BY-SA 3.0. Wikimedia Commons
Welcome to this Gumberg Library resource guide designed to connect researchers in Mediterranean Archaeology and Material Culture to books, articles, and other resources dealing with those topics. The archaeology of ancient Greece and Rome are the main foci of this page, however, the ancient Near East, Egypt, Etruria, Troy, and Carthage are also considered. Information on citation and how to obtain resources not accessible through the Gumberg Library is also provided. Use the tabs running across the top of this research guide to access the various kinds of materials.
E-Reference Databases
Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in some cases, contain hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other sorts of reference works.
Electronic Reference Works
You can use them off-campus as well, but when you click on a title, you will be asked to enter your Multipass information.
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology by 
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by 
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by 
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by 
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Print Reference Works
Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by 
An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology by 
The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East by 
