Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current Events Database
CQ Researcher gives objective overviews of hot topics in the news, including environmental issues. The articles give opinions on all sides of an issue, and are good sources of statistics. A great resource for beginning research.
To use this database off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.
Electronic Reference Works
Below is a list of relevant reference works that can be accessed electronically.
To access these electronic reference works off-campus, you must enter your Multipass username and password.
Working in Pittsburgh Guide
A research guide designed to help Gumberg Library users learn what it was like to live and work in Pittsburgh and the surrounding area during the heyday of industry. It highlights important literary works depicting the lives of workers and their families, as well as points researchers to non-fiction books and databases for magazine and journal articles on the the historical realities of the topic.
Pittsburgh Environmental History
This Gumberg Library research guide is designed to quickly connect the user to print books, ebooks, articles, and other types of resources on the environmental history of the city of Pittsburgh and its surrounding region, including Allegheny County and all of Western Pennsylvania. Because the economy, industry, and lives of workers are intimately tied up with and influence the environment of a region, those topics are also covered on this research guide.
Click a link below to search a database. To use them from off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
A database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
Login with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Click a link below to search for all books under that subject in the QuickSearch online catalog. Click here to learn how to find EBooks.
US Energy Policy Websites
EU Energy Policy Websites
Gumberg Library Related Research Guides