Skip to main content

Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA): Home

undefined

What is CRRA?

"A Great Source of Scholarly Content"

Founded in 2008, CRRA is a nonprofit (501c3) membership alliance of institutions collaborating to deliver projects and services in support of its mission "to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources in the Americas." Our immediate focus is creating access to those rare, unique, and uncommon research materials which are held by libraries and archives in North America. Currently there are 50 member and partner institutions in CRRA. Duquesne has been a member for almost a decade.

Vision

The CRRA will foster a dynamic scholarly community by:

  • creating the freely available portal to Catholic research resources in the Americas;
  • sustaining the distinctive network of libraries, archives and other institutions that enable the vision; and
  • facilitating internationally the sharing of resources and scholarship

CRRA Initiatives

Catholic Portal

The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," is the "online catalog" of CRRA and provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources.

The Portal is a core component of the CRRA's mission and presently contains records to rare and unique member-held resources in all formats, and a growing number of resources available in digital form, or, "full text items."

Three minute video introduction to the Portal


Catholic News Archive

Our site has thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years... and the collection is growing! Our collection is fully text searchable so do a search on anything that interests you and see it in the context of the newspapers' editorials, pictures, and advertisements. This collection contains 23,431 issues comprising 528,577 pages

See the new flyer


Catholic Newspapers Program

Scholars are keenly aware of the importance of Catholic sources as the Church has helped shape the American experience, with significant influences on our systems of education, social justice, immigration, and medical care, to name just a few.  Catholic newspapers are relevant to an array of issues across disciplines, including but not limited to: class formation, ethnicity, adaptation to new environments, religious discrimination, charitable work and social justice, school systems, and hospitals.


Subject Guides

These guides are webpages designed to connect CRRA portal users quickly to print and electronic Catholic Studies materials available through CRRA institutions or on the Internet. The topics of many of the guides are based on the CRRA collecting themes.


Resource Sharing

The objective of the CRRA Resource Sharing Forum is to assist users in accessing materials in CRRA member and partner collections. CRRA members will continue borrowing from their current "first line" borrowing partners, usually a state or other consortial resource-sharing network, and add CRRA members in a subsequent borrowing group. Members and partners participate based on their capacity for loaning and/or digitizing, and to the extent possible, share resources with CRRA members free of charge.