Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide on civil rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr. (1929-1968). This guide will connect you to reference works, books (both print and ebooks), and databases for articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals, as well high quality materials from the Internet.
All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.
"Martin Luther King Jr." in Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
"Martin Luther King Jr." in Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America Vol. 2
"Martin Luther King Jr." in Encyclopedia on Race and Racism
"Martin Luther King Jr." in Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature Vol. 2
"Martin Luther King Jr." in The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
EBooks in the list below may be accessed off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass information when you click on a title.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Encyclopedia by 
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience by 
Complete Encyclopedia of African American History
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd edition by 
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by 
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America by 
Knock at Midnight: Inspiration from the Great Sermons of Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr.
The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.
A Testament of Hope: The Essential Speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr.Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.
Click on any link below to run a search in the online catalog, for all books and other materials on that subject in, or accessible through, the Gumberg Library.
All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.
How Martin Luther King, Jr. Changed the World
The "I Have a Dream" Speech Live
Need Help?
Call, text, chat, or email your questions
This research guide was created by Victoria Wilson, English Department Intern, and Ted Bergfelt, MLS, Humanities Librarian, in December 2019
