Skip to main content

For Students

Current students

 Loan Privileges for Any Student Currently Enrolled at Duquesne University

Check-out Limit: 100 items (or as many items as you can keep track of at once!)

Please Note: You must be present to check out library items on your account. Students, you cannot send someone else to the library with your ID card to check out items for you.

Distance or Online-Only Students: visit http://guides.library.duq.edu/online-learners for all the ways Gumberg meets your needs.

Item Type Item Location By Floor    Initial Loan Time Renewals Fines & Fees
Gumberg Library Items
General Circulating Print  All 5 floors 16-weeks

One 16-week renewal at My Library Account

$0.20 per day
Media (DVDs, CDs, LPs) GL 5th 2 weeks One 2-week renewal at My Library Account $0.20 per day
Periodicals, Microfilm, & Reference GL 1st & 5th 2 weeks One 2-week renewal at My Library Account $0.20 per day
Course Reserves (in-library) GL Circ Desk 4th 2, 3, 4, or 5 hours One 2,3,4, or 5 hour renewal at My Library Account $0.50 per HOUR

Course Reserves (circulating)

GL Circ Desk 4th  1, 3, or 7 days One 1, 3, or 7 days renewal at My Library Account $1.00 per day
Specialty Items
Individual study room key GL Circ Desk 4th 4 hours One 4-hour renewal at Circ Desk if no waitlist

$0.50 per HOUR

$75 lost key replacement fee

Group study room key GL Circ Desk 4th 2 hours by reservation only No renewals

$5.00 per HOUR

$75 lost key replacement fee

Headphones, chargers, dry erase markers, etc. GL Circ Desk 4th 4 hours One 4-hour renewal at Circ Desk if no waitlist Replacement fee if lost or damaged
Laptops & external disc drives GL Circ Desk 4th 7 days One 7-day renewal at Circ Desk if no waitlist $1.00 per day
Bone Boxes GL Circ Desk 4th 4 hours One 4-hour renewal at Circ Desk if no waitlist $0.50 per HOUR
Borrowed from Other Libraries
E-ZBorrow* GL Circ Desk 4th 16 weeks
(2 weeks to pick up after arrival notice is sent)
No renewals

$0.20 per day

$125 default replacement fee*

ILLiad* GL Circ Desk 4th 4 weeks One 4-week renewal at My ILLiad Account $125 default replacement fee*
Centers & Collections
Archives & Special Collections Material GL 1st Contact Archives & Special Collections for ALL Loan Requests Contact Archives & Special Collections for ALL Loan Extension Variable
Curriculum Center kit, manipulative, puppet GL 5th 2 weeks

One 2-week renewal at My Library Account

Contact Curriculum Center to request a further Loan Extension

$0.20 per day
Curriculum Center Stacks, Picture Books, 
Chapter Books and Big Books
GL 5th 8 weeks

One 8-week renewal at My Library Account

Contact Curriculum Center to request a further Loan Extension

$0.20 per day
Gumberg Library of Things GL Circ Desk 4th 7 days One 7-day renewal at Circ Desk if no waitlist $1.00 per day
Phenomenology Center Book GL 1st 2 weeks

One 2-week renewal

Contact Phenomenology Center to request a further Loan Extension

$0.20 per day
Lost or Damaged Items
Gumberg Items

Default Item Replacement Fee: $100* 

*Contact the Assistant University Librarian for Access Services for specific item replacement costs. Do NOT purchase a replacement copy as it may not be accepted.

Items Borrowed from Another Institution:

E-ZBorrow, ILLiad, reciprocal libraries

Default Item Replacement Fee: $125**

**The replacement and processing fees are determined by the lending library. Contact the Assistant University Librarian for Access Services for specific item replacement costs.  Do NOT purchase a replacement copy as it may not be accepted.

How Does Billing Work?

Notification/ Billing

Email notices are a courtesy! Users are responsible for returning items on time. Users may inquire about charges at the 4th floor circulation desk.

Lost Items

Items are billed at 4 weeks overdue. The circulation system generates a $100 default bill. This charge is adjusted to reflect the actual cost to replace the overdue item plus a $25 processing fee. Gumberg Library will not accept replacement copies purchased by users, and cannot issue refunds for any payments.

If an item is less than eight weeks overdue, users may return the overdue item to the 4th floor circulation desk and pay any applicable overdue fees, or pay the replacement cost of the item. Payment may be made in-person or online.

  • Please make checks payable to Duquesne University.
  • Please note that credit card transactions may take up to 5 business day to process.
    • If your account is blocked and you wish to check something out, please bring your receipt of payment to the 4th Floor circulation desk.

If an item is more than eight weeks overdue, students will be billed the replacement cost of the overdue item through Student Accounts.

  • Charges sent to Student Accounts are non-reversible and non-refundable.
  • The library will not accept payment or returns for items billed to Student Accounts.

Replacement funds may be used to either replace the lost item or, at the Gumberg Library’s discretion, to purchase other items which support the library’s mission. For more information please refer to the Gumberg Library’s Collection Development Policy.

Damaged Items

Damaged items are evaluated on a case-by-case basis. If the library determines that the item is unusable and cannot be repaired, the user will be responsible for the replacement cost of the item plus a $25 processing fee.