Skip to Main Content

Karl Stern Archival Collection: Home

This guide contains resources relating to Karl Stern, including the Karl Stern Collection within the Archives of the Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center and the Karl Stern Lecture Series.

Karl Stern picture

Dr. Karl Stern was born in Cham, Bavaria on April 8, 1906 to Orthodox Jewish parents. Following his mother’s death he studied medicine in Frankfurt, earning his degree in 1930. By 1932 he was working as a Rockefeller fellow in the German Research Institute. When the Nazi Party came to power, he was saved from the Aryan Laws because of his American sponsorship. However, he still fled to London in 1935, working at the National Hospital for Nervous Diseases under a grant marked for German Jewish refugees. He married Liselotte von Baeyer, with whom he would have three children, the next year. In 1940 the Stern family moved to Montreal, when Karl was appointed Lecturer in Neuropathology at McGill University. He would later become Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Ottawa and Psychiatrist in Chief at St. Mary’s Hospital in Montreal. Although in his youth Stern was a Marxist Zionist, in 1940 after much soul searching both he and his wife (who was raised Lutheran) converted to Roman Catholicism. He details his struggle in his autobiography, Pillar of Fire for which he won one of his two Christopher Awards. In total he would author four more books and over sixty journal articles. Stern died in November of 1975.

from Karl Stern Collection. Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center. http://archives.library.duq.edu/repositories/4/resources/4.

Selected Works by Stern

Searching for Stern Resources at Duquesne

Search Techniques

In order to find books and articles authored by or written about Dr. Karl Stern, please follow these guidelines when searching our library catalog or any of our online databases:

Write a list of search terms

  • Before you begin searching create a list of keywords that describe your topic, including names, dates, places, and subjects
  • Use a thesaurus to stimulate your word choice and to generate synonyms for your concepts

Use Advanced Search to search for Author and/or Subject

  • If searching a name, such as Karl Stern, search both 'Stern, Karl' and 'Karl Stern' 
  • Searching 'Author' returns resources authored by your search query
  • Searching 'Subject' returns any resources listed underneath that subject heading

Use Subject Headings

  • When clicking through a resource, see what Subject Headings are listed.  Click the subject headings to look at other resources within the same subject.

Limit your search in Gumberg's Quick Search

  • Limit your search by location to Gumberg Silverman Phen General - 1st Floor if you want to make sure an item is located in the Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center

Document your search

  • Document your return results from initial searches.  From these results, scan items for any related terms that will help to refine your keywords.

Find Books at Gumberg Library and Simon Silverman Phenomenology Center

Databases

Other Useful Information

Need help with citation? Click the link below for help in citing resources in the major styles.

Citing Your Sources

Gumberg doesn't have it?  Click below to see your options .

Getting Materials from Other Libraries

This Guide Created By

This LibGuide originally created by Matthew A. Jones, MLIS, 2019.