Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gumberg Library Quick Links
Journal Article Databases
This list represents a small portion of all the databases Gumberg Library offers. For more complete lists of databases see the Nursing Pathfinders or Research Databases links below.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PubMed @ Duquesne
Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Additional Research Guides
Searching the nursing and medical literature is not as easy as searching Google. Click the link below for tutorials, videos, and more!
Finding Full Text
Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. Click the link below to learn about finding full text.