LibGuides: Pope Francis: Pontiff of Hope & Mercy: Home

picture of pope francis

Pope Francis arrives at Tacloban Airport, the Phillipines, on January 17, 2015. Photo by Benhur Arcayan, Malacanang Photo Bureau. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Official Documents from the Holy See

Documents From the Holy See

Biography

Apostolic Constitutions

Apostolic Exhortations

All Vatican Documents

Description of Coat of Arms

Find Magazine and Journal Articles

Find Magazine and Journal Articles

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Related Gumberg Library Research Guides

Related Research Guides

Welcome!

Welcome!

With the popularity of a rock star, Pope Francis is bringing the message of God's love and mercy in Christ to all corners of the world. Not afraid of controversy, he is constantly surprising, constantly challenging. This research guide is designed to connect Gumberg Library users to books by and about Pope Francis, databases for articles from magazines and journals, and good web content.

Books About Pope Francis

Books About Pope Francis

A Call to Serve by Stefan Von Kempis; Philip F. Lawler
Call Number: BX 1378.7 K46 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Francis Effect: A Radical Pope's Challenge to the American Catholic Church by John Gehring
Call Number: BX1378.7 G44 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Francis: Pope of a New World by Andrea Tornielli
Call Number: BX1378.7 T6713 2013X
Publication Date: 2013
The Future of the Catholic Church with Pope Francis by Garry Wills
Call Number: BX1378.7 W55 2016x
Publication Date: 2015
The Great Reformer: Francis and the Making of a Radical Pope by Austen Ivereigh
Call Number: BX1378.7 I94 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Pope Francis: The Pope From the End of the Earth by Thomas J. Craughwell
Call Number: BX1378.7 C73 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Pope Francis: Untying the Knots: The Struggle for the Soul of Catholicism by Paul Vallely
Call Number: BX1378.7 V35 2015x
Publication Date: 2015
Pope Francis: Why He Leads the Way He Leads: Lessons From the First Jusuit Pope by Chris Lowney
Call Number: BX1378.7 L69 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Pray for Me: The Life and Spiritual Vision of Pope Francis, First Pope From the Americas by Robert Moynihan
Call Number: BX1378.7 M69 2013x
Publication Date: 2013

EBooks About Francis

Saints and Sinners: A History of the Popes, 4th edition by Eamon Duffy
Call Number: This is an EBook. Click the title to use it.
Publication Date: 2015
The last section of this edition is about Pope Francis.